Blast from the past: LJ October 2004

October 4th, 2004 02:14 pm
So my aunt was teasing me while I was in STL that I talk about New Orleans way too much (especially when I’m out of town). I’m afraid she might be right. But I think that I talk about NOLA because it’s probably the most interesting thing about me. And I don’t mean that in a poor-pitiful-pearl kind of way.

My other cousin, El Dungo, said that when he moved to Florida, he could always tell stories about 3 topics at parties and people would be interested.
1. Being from New Orleans.
2. Stories about his uncle, my Dad.
3. Stories about my uncle, Paran.
Now I know El Dungo is a better story teller than I am. He doesn’t get all tangental and lost in his stories for one thing.

So maybe it isn’t that being from here is the most interesting thing, it’s just that people are fascinated about our nutty town.


October 5th, 2004 03:29 pm
poisoned
So one of my co-workers brought me a souvenir bag of candy from Disneyworld. It’s covered in Japanese writing, but the candies on the front look variously, angry, smirky, happy, sleepy, and way too happy.

Some flavors are just gross, yet I can’t stop chewing on their expressive little faces.


October 6th, 2004 06:54 am
an StL almost-celebrity sighting
As I was trying to find my luggage in St. Louis on Friday, I spotted Greg Proops from Whose Line is it Anyway? When I told [info]ordinarywhirled in the car, she was unimpressed. But at least she knew who the heck I was talking about.


October 8th, 2004 01:11 pm
Sometimes I love my profession
Small Town Library Takes On The Feds
October 5, 2004
By April Zepeda

WHATCOM COUNTY – The FBI wants to know who checked out a book from a small library about Osama Bin Laden. But the library isn’t giving out names, saying the government has no business knowing what their patrons read.

The library in Deming isn’t much larger than a family home. Located in rural Whatcom County, it hardly seems the site for a showdown with the feds.

“I think we all figure it’s places like the New York Library System that’s going to be one of the first we hear about,” said the attorney for the Whatcom County Library System, Deborra Garret.

At the center of the issue, a book titled “Bin Laden: The Man Who Declared War on America.”

The FBI confiscated the original book after a patron reported than some one hand wrote a bin Laden quote in the margin that read: “Let history be witness I am a criminal.”

The FBI demanded to know the names and addresses of everyone who ever checked out the book.

“Libraries are a haven where people should be able to seek whatever information they want to pursue without any threat of government intervention,” said Director of Whatcom County Library System, Joan Airoldi.

Because of privacy policies, the library does not give out circulation records without a court order. When the FBI got a grand jury subpoena, the library filed a motion to quash it — citing the rights of all people who use the library.

“Like the right to read and to read the material of one’s choice without fear that someone will come around with questions about why you chose that book,” said Garrett.

The FBI withdrew the subpoena, reserving the right to file it again.

A spokeswoman for the U.S. Attorney’s office says they are not permitted to discuss anything that involves the grand jury.

If the feds had demanded the records under the Patriot Act, the library would have had to hand them over without question and without help from the courts.

The FBI still has the bin Laden book.

Librarians point out, it’s overdue.


October 8th, 2004 01:14 pm
My favorite part is that the Library is probably charging them fines.


October 10th, 2004 01:40 pm
I had a childhood favorite stuck in my head yesterday. The Night Chicago Died. I loved this song so much when I was in grade school; it came out the year I was 7. I think mostly because it had a straight narrative and the fact that the singers said mama so funny. I comes more like mawmu.

Years ago, when LEM found out that I am periodically obsessed with this song, he found his old Dynamite album which featured PaperLace and gave me a copy on tape.


October 12th, 2004 11:36 am
dogs & babies
So because I worked on Sunday, I had yesterday off. And I had the pleasure of spending the day with 7, my newest niece, who is around 9 months old. We both managed the day without injury. Well, she is at the head-conking stage, so she did smack her noggin a couple of times. But as everyone in my family has incredibly thick skulls, nothing beyond a red mark was visible to her mom.

Sienna did stomp on her a little, but there again no lasting damage. Really, Sienna was just too excited to have a baby in the house. I had to put her (Sienna not 7) outside because she kept lunging at the baby to french-kiss her. This is behavior that the parents would not approve of.

Oh and since I was being a good Aunt, I went and had lunch with 2 other nieces and the nephew. How long has it been since I was in a grade school cafeteria? I was there for an hour and a half to sit through the first through fifth grade lunch seatings. It has been decades since I was in grade school, but watching kids get squeezed out from tables and then have no one to sit with, can still make you feel like an insecure little kid.


October 12th, 2004 01:25 pm
Soylent Green is people——————-
Oops! Wrong movie

So while I was home babysitting, I was also channel surfing. I ran across Earthquake, 1974. Charlton Heston is reading a journal entitle, World Engineering and there’s a glam shot of…Charlton Heston on the cover, with his giant balding head sort of covering the title of the journal. HA! Too funny.


October 14th, 2004 03:26 pm
What makes me happy?
Without fail, vending machines that dispense frozen confections.
ice cream sandwiches, especially the Mississippi Mud
choco-tacos
drumsticks
fudgesicles.

Yum.


October 19th, 2004 10:08 am
I think I’m being stalked by Poppin’ Fresh, the Pillsbury dough boy. First, my Mom made me take the rest of stuff stored at her house back to my house. This included boxes of childhood toys. And my Poppin Fresh and his little sister, Poppy Fresh and their parents were all in a box. So I put the happy family on a book shelf.

Then I go to ordinarywhirled’s house and she has one in her kitchen. Poppin found her when a previous owner left him at Whirled’s old apartment.

Now, I notice that one of my neighbor’s is using a Poppin Fresh as an antenna topper. Poor Poppin riding around with an antenna up his butt.

OK, so maybe he’s not stalking me, but that’s awful coincidental, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

