Blast from the past: LJ February 2005

February 1st, 2005 12:56 pm
“Education no doubt can be suggested in the classroom; but education happens in the library.” A quote from an article in the Daily Princetonian. In it the author also compares a librarian to Beatrice, y’know Dante’s muse in the Divine Comedy. I still can’t believe that I had to read that in high school, and no, I didn’t go to private school.

Just one more from the article, ” libraries are the sexiest places, and librarians the sexiest people, on earth.

So there.


February 3rd, 2005 02:21 pm
the price of being a sugar junkie
I have a headache, so the obvious answer was to start binge eating candy. I was trying to be good and avoid the skittles because they are like crack to me. So instead I am eating cheap juju fruit.

My dentist is going to either be
A. really aggravated because I have pulled all of my fillings out with sticky candy or
B. seeing dollar signs and really happy when she has to re-do all of my dental work.
02:25 pm
Oh and why are the purple juju fruits a totally different texture than all the other colors. They’re much harder.

Today’s king cake is a duplicate so I’m still on 8.


February 8th, 2005 11:10 am
9 & 10
King Cakes 9 & 10 were from the Party Palace: one traditional and one strawberry filled.


February 9th, 2005 02:44 pm
Why I’m glad MG is over
Mardi Gras turned me into a =====. OK, I think I’m giving up cursing for lent. Thanks, Whirled for reminding me.

Too many people in my house.
Too much walking so my feet hurt, guaranteed crankiness.
Not enough sleep, guaranteed crankiness part 2.

Plus yesterday, the drunk 18-year-old son of my neighbor (this neighbor is actually younger than me which is a whole separate rant) let their dachshund out six or seven times. Mostly she bee-lined for my house where the first time she made it in the front door and promptly peed on the bedroom rug. The last time the dog ran straight in front of a car speeding down my street, which thankfully missed her. LEM cursed the kid out which makes him a hero in my book. Plus the dog-lover ladies across the street gave them a lecture too. What a buzz-kill, HA!
10:21 pm
stupid Grease ads
I know have both Frankie Avalon’s face and “Hopelessly Devoted to You” in my head. Just what I need.


February 10th, 2005 10:06 am
Lucky for me, hits from the Grease soundtrack were rapidly replaced by Roxanne last night. I’m brushing my teeth humming to myself…
I won’t share you with another boy,
so put away your makeup,
rinse repeat.


February 12th, 2005 06:08 pm
more songs
I had Queen’s Fat Bottom Girls stuck in my head all afternoon and evening. (As an aside what did Freddy Mercury know about girls-fat bottomed or otherwise?)

It was replaced by Carwash because my niece, T received the Shark Take DVD/CD combo which includes a karaoke feature. So…
Work and work
Get your carwash today…


February 15th, 2005 11:49 am
Ha!
Don’t ever mess with a librarian—we will kill you, grind up your body, then create a cannibalism edition of Harry Potter that other librarians will use to teach literacy to flesh-eating tribes in Papua New Guinea. I’m not kidding about this. from D I S P A T C H E S F R O M A P U B L I C L I B R A R I A N BY SCOTT DOUGLAS

So I’m not the only librarian with violent tendencies…good to know.
02:08 pm
gross
I hate it, HATE IT, when men where old white shirts with no undershirt. I don’t need to see that much chest hair/man boobs/whatever because you’re too lazy to go buy a new shirt.


February 16th, 2005 09:50 am
more songs
So I had the Archies “Sugar” swimming around in my cranium this morning. I often default to that song. Because I love sugar and because I think it was one of the first pop-type songs I learned. We had a 45 of it that had been cut from the back of a cereal box. Which I still feel is invention genius! Along with intermittent wipers.

But Sugar was quickly replaced with Abba’s Dancing Queen. I think the “having the time of your life” line is just here to torment me on a boring Wednesday when half of the staff has called in sick.


February 17th, 2005 09:33 am
overheard
I was waiting for a table with a large group of people at Copeland’s (not my choice) last night. This guy walks buy me and says “but I told them it was a credenza.” That’s just funny.
03:35 pm
flashback
You know that scene in Stripes (no, not the annoying “that’s the fact, jack” one), the one from the beginning where he’s still driving the cab. And there’s this really annoying woman that he’s bringing to the airport or something. Anyway, he pretends to be really sleepy and starts swerving all over the road and says something about drinking cough syrup just to freak her out.

Well, that’s what I’m going to be like driving home from work in approximately an hour and half. Because that’s how sleepy I am without cough syrup. So please avoid my vehicle for your own safety.


February 18th, 2005 09:52 am
Credenza’s are following me
I heard someone say Credenza on TV last night.
I think it’s obviously a codeword for a plot for world domination.
Or maybe it’ll be like Beetlejuice and when I hear it for the 3rd time something will happen.
Or it’s both and when I hear it for the 3rd time, I’ll turn into a CIA-zombie-assassin or something.


February 20th, 2005 09:46 pm
non-celeb sighting
So last night, I was at Adolpho’s on Frenchman having dinner and who walks in but non-celebrity, Austin from Project Runway. I was tempted to go over and discuss his recent booting from the show, but decided that was just the liquor talking.


February 21st, 2005 11:07 am
gender issues in dogs
So how bent out of shape would you be if I referred to your dog as He when it was a She? Evidently this was a huge faux-paw on my part yesterday. I think since they’re all neutered what does it matter. But I could be wrong. I don’t think I hurt the dog’s feelings.


February 22nd, 2005 02:12 pm
somehow I missed this in October
Anne Geddes and Celine Dion have jointly produced a book called, Miracle.

Repent! the end is near.
03:14 pm
Again with the non-celebrity
Sassy just saw Austin from Project Runway, again. We were at dinner together on Saturday night when I spotted him. She saw him waiting for a streetcar on St. Charles Ave. He was dressed as a cowgirl with full flouffy hair, a cowboy hat, an ascot, and his jeans tucked into his cowboy boots.


February 23rd, 2005 08:42 am
the joys of Sienna
So yesterday evening, in a rare burst of energy, I decided to rake the leaves in the side yard. While raking, I found an old cereal box. OK, that was weird. How did the cereal box make it out of the garbage can? So then I sort of saw something under the house.

Sienna, the wonder pooch, had dragged an entire kitchen bag of garbage under the house for a little doggie feast. When I crawled under the house to remove the garbage, I realized that this was the bag from Lundi Gras. Friends had brought by Wendy’s for their supper, so Sienna was tempted by residual chicken nugget smell, OK. But then I discovered the real reason for her thievery, there was a diaper in the trash. MMMM, dog delicacy.

And I got to clean it all up.


February 24th, 2005 04:40 pm
a shot of what?
LEM called to check in from Miami where he’s working on the Premio awards. While we were chatting, I heard him say, “a shot would be great, thanks.”

WHAT? In the 20 years that I’ve known him, I’ve seen LEM drink a shot maybe twice. And at work? I don’t think so.

Well, it turned out to be a shot of cuban coffee which makes much more sense when you’re working from 8 a.m. to 6 a.m.


February 28th, 2005 10:35 am
job titles
I keep forgetting to post this…

I was reading an article in the Times-Pic a few weeks ago and the victim was described as a “shade tree mechanic.” I just love it. Because it’s so much more evocative than a regular mechanic.

Leave a Reply

