Blast from the past: LJ April 2005

April 5th, 2005 01:21 pm
self-censoring
I went back the other day and re-read my LJ postings. Boy, did I name my journal correctly. But that’s not the point. I re-read everything because niece SGL, age 11, found out I have a blog and she wants to read it.

Luckily, I have been smut and cursing free. Who knew?


April 6th, 2005 10:12 am
a little bit of the ultra violence
There’s this patron at my library and he is THE most irritating human on the face of the earth. After this morning’s phone conversation, I am fantasizing about backhanding him with all my strength while wearing many heavy, pointy rings. Then when he hits the ground, I will stomp on him while wearing heavy boots.

The only problem with this is my total lack of heavy, pointy rings or heavy, pointy boots for that matter. So maybe my other coworkers suggestion of a sack of doorknobs is better.


April 11th, 2005 02:07 pm
What?
Thanks to Whirled, I know now that Cookie Monster’s original name was Sid!

“Last year Cookie Monster – originally played by Muppets regular Frank Oz, the voice of Miss Piggy and Fozzie Bear – revealed that before eating his first cookie his name was Sid.”
from the BBC


April 14th, 2005 08:33 am
yesterday, driving home at lunch
I saw a car with chucky doll poked through it’s sunroof, red hair glinting in the sun. It was funny, yet creepy, all at once.


April 18th, 2005 09:32 am
NOLA.com obits
I was searching for an obit for my boss and ran across the following nicknames:
Mawzie, Snipe, Bucky, Fuzzy, but the winner is….
Seaweed Tiggy.
11:22 am
frightful TV viewing
Example 1:
TLC medical show where they show the person with a bug in their ear. I will not search for a link to this because it freaks me out so bad.

Example 2:
The Sears commercials for the new Ty Pennington Style collection. This is just so WRONG! I kind of hated Ty on Trading Spaces years ago. But now I really hate him on Extreme Makeover: Home Edition. He’s just so irritating. And the Sears commercials make me yell at the TV. LEM thought I had lost my mind, but then saw what I was yelling at and understood…not that he would ever yell at the TV. I’m sure that it’s all over the Sears website, but I refuse to find a link because I don’t want to give them any traffic.


April 19th, 2005 12:22 pm
New Pope
It’s funny. LEM and I were just talking about Ratzinger yesterday. Since until this morning, he was the prefect of the Sacred Congregation for the Doctrine of Faith. That makes him the inheritor of the mantle of the grand inquisitor. So now I guess we get to see how much damage a 78-year-old ultra-conservative pope can do.
01:20 pm
KEK just ruined this for me…
OK, Crocodile Rock came out in 1973, so I was 6. I never paid attention to the lyrics even though I’ve sung them most of my life. I just always thought it was about a dance. Well, KEK just pointed out to me that the whole song is about having sex. I found the lyrics online and she’s right.

Well Crocodile Rocking is something shocking
when your feet just can’t keep still
I never knew me a better time and I guess I never will
Oh Lawdy mama those Friday nights
when Suzie wore her dresses tight
and the Crocodile Rocking was out of sight.

I’m just not a happy camper, right now.
02:10 pm
more pope
A friend just sent me an article that outlines how Ratzinger was a Hitler youth (although he didn’t want to be or something).

But the part that is most worrisome is on page 2.

His condemnations are legion — of women priests, married priests, dissident theologians and homosexuals, whom he has declared to be suffering from an “objective disorder”.

He upset many Jews with a statement in 1987 that Jewish history and scripture reach fulfillment only in Christ — a position denounced by critics as “theological anti-semitism”. He made more enemies among other religions in 2000, when he signed a document, Dominus Jesus, in which he argued: “Only in the Catholic church is there eternal salvation”.


April 21st, 2005 01:56 pm
heard about this in from the Library Journal
The Hollywood Librarian: A Look at Librarians on Film is a full-length feature documentary film now in production.

First a movie on TNT, now a documentary, if Barbie ever does come out with it’s librarian doll then we’ll have really made it.


April 22nd, 2005 08:46 am
this morning on WWOZ
The morning jazz show was playing selections from Howls, Raps & Roars: Recordings from the San Francisco Poetry Renaissance. I knew it had to be Ferlinghetti reading poetry interspersed with jazz riffs. It was from a poem entitle Autobiography. My favorite section?

“where every coin is marked ‘In God We Trust’ but the dollar bills do not have it being gods unto themselves.”

Excellent
01:09 pm
weird dreams
I actually dreamed that I was sewing last night. For those who know me, sewing is the one domestic skill that I have not mastered at ALL. Even stranger, I wasn’t stressed out by the sewing.


April 26th, 2005 04:12 pm
creature feature
I mentioned the bug in the ear commercial to a friend last night and I think I actually saw his skin crawl. And, of course, talking about it gave me the heebie-jeebies all over. LEM just wanted to know what was wrong with me that I would even bring it up again. But it’s like a sore spot that you can’t help but push on…


April 27th, 2005 10:17 am
more crazy stuff in the parking garage
At 8:30 this morning there was jeep in the staff parking with an ENORMOUS silk magnolia-y flower arrangement on the hood. It completely blocked the windshield.

So is it a gift for the owner of the jeep?
Or does the owner of the jeep hope that someone will swipe it?
02:40 pm
again…
So Monday night, I went out with cousin, Kruh (back from France) and his friend, the englishman. We went to Rock-n-Bowl to see Snooks Eaglin. Well the backing band was PBS, Porter, Batiste, and Stoltz. So that’s the 3rd time in couple of weeks that I’ve seen Brian Stoltz in concert. Weird.

But I did have an insane conversation with an extremely drunk tourist from Hawaii, but really her “heart lives in New Orleans.”


April 28th, 2005 11:15 am
in the cage
Last night, I went out with cousin Kruh and the Englishman. We had dinner at Sid-Mar’s (and I should know better than attempting to eat healthy there, no more grilled entrees). Then decided to head out to the Quarter. The Englishman had only been there during the day. It was pretty dead for the week of Jazz Fest, but that made it easier to find places to sit down. We hit all the standards…Pierre Lafitte’s Blacksmith Shop, Pat O’Brian’s, and the Dungeon. Kruh had never been to the Dungeon which I found hard to believe. We even got to dance in the cage. The Englishman decided it (the cage inside the Dungeon) was his favorite spot in New Orleans, but that may have been the beer talking.


April 29th, 2005 08:48 am
happy dance!
My brand-spanking-new computer is now ensconced at my house! No more hand-me-down from LEM’s Dad. No more computing in the world of 1997 technology. Now I just need to get cable internet access and I’ll be all mod.

Leave a Reply

