Depth of History: Finding Lost Relatives

When I was wandering in the cemetery next door, I noticed a tomb with my grandmother’s maiden name and a World War II era plaque with a name that looked familiar. I snapped a couple of photos and sent them to my Dad. Turns out I remembered correctly; Gauslin was the maiden name of his mother’s mother. And the WWII era marker was for his “uncle” who I think was really his cousin.

My Granny's maiden name


My Great-Grandmother's nephew killed in WWII


Frederick was also the name of my grandmother’s brother and his son and his son. So far the cousin Ricky of my generation only has a daughter.

My Dad also wrote about his grandmother:
“She was the daughter of Tom Gauslin and Evalina Griffin. He was a Union soldier involved in the occupation of the City. He married an evauee from Osyka, Miss.” Who knew?

Leave a Reply

