Blast from the past: LJ May 2005

May 3rd, 2005 03:00 pm
old tattoos
Saw an old lady (gray hair, wrinkles, wheelchair) at Jazz Fest. I noticed her because her wheelchair was the pack mule for her family/friends, completely loaded with bag chairs. Then I noticed her Grateful Dead hat which looked really new and clean which just seems wrong. Then I noticed her huge tattoo on her forearm. I couldn’t tell what the picture was because it was pretty faded and wrinkly.


May 5th, 2005 10:34 pm
late night TV
So last night on David Letterman, I got to see armadillos having sex on Dave’s desk. Disturbing.

Tonight, on the NEWS, I saw an 89-year-old male stripper. Yes, 89. So very disturbing. When they interviewed one of the brides at the strip club where he was working, they obviously had to turn her veil around to hide the little rubber penises (penisi?) that were decorating it.

So now Dave is on again. Supposedly they will running a city bus into a pinata. It’s not horny armadillos but everynight can’t be that special.


May 17th, 2005 07:38 pm
um…what?
I was behind a car yesterday that had a bumper sticker with something about a marmot. I thought that was pretty random. So I looked it up tonight to see if I was missing something. AND, of course, I was. Marmot is used as a euphemism for beaver which is…oh you know. Anyway, I’m annoyed that I wasted time on this AND I can’t even remember what the stupid bumper sticker said.


May 22nd, 2005 06:17 pm
Not my best weekend
So yesterday, I tweaked out my back for the 2nd time ever. The last time was almost 10 years ago when my only nephew was a toddler and I tried to rescue him from an attacking cousin. I reached across a bin of toys, picked him up, turned to put him down and ended up on the floor. My brother had to come pick me up; something had just snapped in my back.

So yesterday, same sort of thing I was picking up a box that was just too heavy and turned with it. I couldn’t even move. Luckily, LEM was home and I’m recovering better this time than last. Still, I’m moving like I’m 95 years old.

So the much worse thing from today…
On my way home from the grocery, I noticed a down syndrome girl wandering around my neighborhood. I’ve never seen her before and she seemed to be wearing nothing but a t-shirt, underwear, and slippers. I tried to talk to her as she walked past my house, but Sienna started barking in the yard and the girl got scared and ran away. I brought all the groceries into the house and when I went back out, one of my neighbors told me he had contacted the police because she seemed so lost. After about 20 minutes the police came and cruised around the block and found her sitting on the steps of a house about a block away. Anyway, I stayed with the police and the girl for about an hour. I think she said her name was Leigh-Ann, but she was barely verbal. I brought her some water and another neighbor brought her a dress. No one had reported her missing and no one recognized her. I think she was wandering for awhile. Also, she seemed neglected. Her hair at the base of her neck was incredibly matted into one massive dread and her fingernails and toenails hadn’t been cut in a really long time. The officer finally brought her to juvenile services. I hope she’s going to be OK and that there is someone out there who cares about her.


May 23rd, 2005 10:55 pm
So I fought the urge to try to get an update from the police on what happened to the girl in my neighborhood yesterday. LEM said that it would only make me sadder and more anxious for her.

Well, one of my neighbors saw the policeman who took her to juvenile services. It turns out she lives the next street over, but no where near our block. Her mom was “out cold,” but supposedly other family members were looking for her.

So maybe LEM was right. Knowing doesn’t really help. I wish there were a better answer.


May 30th, 2005 11:44 am
the dogs in my life
So I’ve been puppysitting since Saturday morning, I think I’ve been urinated on at least 5 times. He’s an excitable one my brother’s new puppy; he’s about 4 months old and is a cocker spaniel. Luckily, he and Sienna have been getting along…at least until he tried to steal her treat last night. But he has stopped peeing when she growls at him, so that’s an improvement.

Leave a Reply

