Blast from the Past: LJ November 2005

November 2nd, 2005 11:09 am
AAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!
This morning I called the roofers to get an update on when the supplies would be delivered and the actual roofing would start. What I discovered was that the subcontractor that I have been dealing with was fired by the local company and they asked that I do no more business with him. I WANT to fully support my local economy (and the guy was pretty used-car-salesman), so I agreed after first determining that they would in fact be able to put a roof on my house!

So now I have to wonder what will happen to the $7000+ worth of checks I have already written. I know they have not been cashed and they were made to the local company rather than the sub-contractor, so maybe it will work out. And then again maybe candybars will rain from the sky.
Current Mood: teary

03:25 pm
for those who were concerned
I have stopped with the bursting into tears for now. I now just want to do bodily harm to someone. Good thing that I’m working all by myself in cubicle world today.


November 3rd, 2005 03:04 pm
better
My checks were cashed yesterday by the roofing company, NOT the fired subcontractors. Whoo Hoo! So we might have a roof sometime in the next month.

Plus I got the name of another electrician from my plumber friend; and discovered why my gas isn’t on which would be my bad.

And a friend of LEM’s called him to see if we needed drywall contractors and then sent over some guys from her house and they told us how much sheetrock/plaster needs to be cut out.

Maybe candy bars will rain from the sky!


November 4th, 2005 10:45 am
TGIF
I’m in the exile library for only a 1/2 day today. Then off to NOLA. This weekend we will meet another electrician and maybe the roofing folks to re-select my roof color.

I will attempt to put some order to my semi-empty cold house because I can’t take its abandoned state any longer. Really I will.

I cannot believe it’s November with only 50 shopping days till Christmas. I may have to bring some of my baking stuff to BR so that I will feel Christmasy.

On Tuesday, my new home owner’s adjustor will come out to re-evaluate my roof and determine if my original adjustor mis-measured or only gave me partial payment for my roof.

Oh, and candy bars don’t have to rain from the sky at the moment. There is left over Halloween candy everywhere I look. My teeth are going to fall out of my head.


November 5th, 2005 09:08 pm
candy, candy, candy, candy
I forgot that I’m not allowed to go to any stores in the days after a major candy holiday. I bought $5 worth of clearance Halloween candy, including a bag of Peanut Butter M&Ms (for Quintulus), a bag of 3 musketeers, a bag of Dove mixed milk and dark chocolate, a bag of Hershey almond bars and a bag of Mars mixed chocolate candy. Where will the madness end?


November 6th, 2005 10:08 pm
electricity, electricity
–If you were inside my head you would know that I was singing the electricity song from schoolhouse rock —

Anyway, I gave a down payment to an electrician to rewire the house, so that one day I will come back into the 20th century. His crew is actually starting tomorrow.


November 7th, 2005 04:36 pm
Giant Library Geek
I finally got my copy of Rex Libris from Slave Labor Graphics. I missed the first printing — Damn you, Katrina — but got in on the 2nd. Plus when I went to find their link, I noticed issue 2 is for sale. So it is also ordered.

06:05 pm
Rex Libris
Favorite quotes:
Hand to hand combat just goes with the territory. All part of being a Librarian.

The Librarian has spoken Sally! We dare not disobey!


November 8th, 2005 03:31 pm
Karma-
The electrician firm that charged me the $350 to write up an estimate is being investigated by the Louisiana Attorney General’s Office for price gouging. They charged an 80 year old woman in Metairie three times the going rate to get her electrical service up to code. I’ve already filed my complaint and said that I would like my money refunded. Even if I don’t get the money, I hope it helps build their case for unscrupulous behavior.


November 9th, 2005 03:36 pm
insurance update
My 2nd home owner’s adjustor re-inspected my roof and told me that she wasn’t going to give me any more money for it. The previous adjustor had told me he “totaled” the roof, so either he mis-spoke or he mis-measured. I was sort of expecting so I’m not too upset. The money I was paid for 2/3 of my roof (which she said was more than her inspector would have given me, but he actually walked the roof) will just cover the much cheaper asphalt shingles that I am replacing the slate with. Thank goodness, I didn’t order the rubber shingles; I would be so in the hole.

Now if the roofers would just get started, I would feel much better.


November 11th, 2005 11:03 am
I -almost- have the power!
Isn’t that a quote from the Masters of the Universe? I watched way too many cartoons in the 80s with Quintulus.

But what I’m really referring to is that my electricians are almost finished re-wiring the house. So now, I just have to get a city inspection and then get the power company out to turn the house back on!

As an aside, theoldroadhog, your former landlord asked the company I used to look at re-wiring your old house. We have already warned about his insanity.


November 12th, 2005 04:30 pm
2 steps forward…
Why can’t it just be easy?

The electricians are almost finished re-wiring the house. They have 5 more small things to do. So no big deal.

BUT, they also seemed to have disconnected my telephone line while running the new electrical. LEM is going to crawl under the house tomorrow and see what’s going on. So now I’m back down to running water only.

I called the power company today to have the gas turned back on, but after waiting on hold for 30 minutes (which is actually a short wait), I found out that the office in New Orleans is closed on Saturday. So now my Mom is taking that task over for me which is very kind of her. I just don’t have enough cell minutes to sit on hold for that long during the week and my access to land lines is really limited.

All I want for Christmas is a house that is crawling into the 20th century. Really, I can wait awhile for the 21st.


November 13th, 2005 04:08 pm
again
It rained in my house this afternoon, puddles on the floor and everything. I guess it’s too much to ask that the patches hold for almost 2 months.


November 14th, 2005 07:24 pm
#3
For those keeping score, I have now had 3 accidents in my new truck. I never had an accident in the Acura for the 4 or 5 years that I had it. Well, my ghetto neighbors did run into it pulling out of there driveway, but that doesn’t count.

1st was the kid who clipped me in traffic.

2nd I ran into a light pole outside of my brother’s house. Totally my fault. I’m still not used to having such a long vehicle.

So this afternoon, I was making a left turn through traffic and was hit by a car that I couldn’t see. The police determined it was a no-fault accident. Mostly, my front bumper was bent and pushed off a little.

I think to need have the truck exorcised, or blessed, or something.


November 15th, 2005 11:16 pm
back to the 80s
Because that’s the last time I was in a moving vehicle accident.

In 1985 some one pulled out in front of me on Claiborne and it had just started to rain, so when I hit the brakes, I spun out and hit a parked car.

In December 1989, there was a terrible ice storm and the person behind me on River Road (right by Ochsner Hospital) couldn’t stop and slid into my car. No damage for me, but they broke a headlight, I think.

Since then I’ve had my cars run into in parking lots while I wasn’t even in them, but no actual accidents.

I went an entire decade without an accident. Stupid Baton Rouge.


ovember 16th, 2005 11:26 am
off to Lafayette
I’m headed over to Lafayette for a couple of hours. I’ll be visiting the lovely C and her beautiful children; they used to live in Lakeview.

But the real reason for my update, is to announce that I may still get a roof! The roofers called me at 7:30 this morning, on my day off and I don’t care. There last supply trailer was stolen, trailer and all with about $12,000 worth of roofing supplies. So that put them a little behind. And then their flooded warehouse was robbed twice for any materials that were still usable. So now I feel bad that I was freaking out.

My roofing materials may be delivered within the next 4 days and they were going to go out and see if they could fix the patches so it would stop raining inside the house.

Progress!


November 18th, 2005 11:01 am
Monkeys in Baton Rouge
Last week I was in PetSmart buying more food for the voracious Sienna dog and their was a monkey trying on clothes in the next aisle. Or I should say protesting trying on clothes in the next aisle. This woman was making her new pet monkey (She had driven to Texas to get him from a breeder. And no I didn’t ask; I was eavesdropping.) try on the little outfits that aren’t meant for small dogs including a floatation vest. The monkey kind of looked liked Marcel from Friends, but I couldn’t swear that it was the same breed. I really wished that I had a camera phone.

10:47 pm
obsessive
I have just spent 45 minutes on the phone with Quintulus (aka brother #4) discussing The Adventures of Pete and Pete. I gave him the first season on DVD for his birthday and he just bought the 2nd season for himself. I told him that between Pete & Pete and PeeWee’s Playhouse (I own all of those on DVD) weird kid shows scarred him for life.

11:15 pm
strangeness
So I decided to stay in BR tonight and it has turned into quite an odd night.

I stayed because I’m exhausted and while the BR apartment isn’t home, I thought I might sleep better here than at my parents (which is where I’ll be staying tomorrow). It turns that would certainly be true because brother #3 is supposed to arrive from Houston around 3 a.m. and he and I would both be in the attic bedroom. But the real reason for staying is that every Friday I want to rush home. And, of course, my home isn’t really there for me right now. So I get all excited and run around like a crazy person to get back and then I’m disappointed and depressed.

My decision to stay was made easier by a dinner invitation from cousin M and his girlfriend L (who we thoroughly approve of, she trains horses so has done wonders with cousin M). Well, I was off running errands and arrived home about 30 minutes before they were to pick me up. And a fire truck pulled into the apartment lot right behind me. I asked if everything was OK and they responded that it was an EMS call. They went to the apartment on the other side of the courtyard from me. I knew the elderly man who lived there had not been feeling well because his newspapers would sometimes stay outside all day.

By the time M & L arrived, the fire truck was gone, replaced my a sheriff’s car. So I pretty much knew that our neighbor had moved on to bigger and better things. We went to dinner and when we returned was a hearse SUV parked in the lot and as we headed for the stairs, they were bringing the stretcher down the stairs. At which point, L freaked out some. So we took an alternate stairway up to my apartment and hung out until the hearse was gone.


November 21st, 2005 09:05 pm
weekend update
So I finally did something to aleviate my doldrums at my house. I removed the storm shutters and put plants back out on the porch. These are minors things, but they make me feel better when I drive up and that it something.

In other weekend news, 7 (brother #2’s youngest) has entered the terrible twos with vengeance. She bit me twice, lunged at Sienna Dog, and generally made mischief. SIL #2 was out of town with her family and I think my brother was at the end of his rope, so he kept showing up at Mom’s.

As for the roofing progress, the roofers evidently did re-patch the big holes, so maybe no more rain inside. I’m hoping for materials to be delivered this week. Hoping, hoping, hoping…


November 24th, 2005 08:25 pm
food coma
Made it through the day with no casualties…well, except when I tripped over something as I was pulling out the silverware drawer and crashed the whole thing the ground. But mostly it was self-esteem that was injured. I hate it when I’m horrendously clumsy.

Hope everyone ate until the buttons popped off their clothes.


November 25th, 2005 06:27 pm
cat catcher
For those of you who may remember that one of my neighbors had crazy animal rescue people chase pets away instead of rescue them. Well, one of the cats reappeared and we caught it today. You could totally tell she wanted to be by the humans but was doing the whole cat standoffish thing. Well, I’m a dog person so I don’t play that way and I grabbed her. Which would be when she started purring, I could totally tell she wanted to be caught. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it.


November 26th, 2005 03:11 pm
back to 2
LEM was able to find the short in the telephone line so I’m back to 2 services. Both water and telephone. Yea!

And on Friday, I’m supposed to be the gasman to have my natural gas turned back on.

05:35 pm
adding to your Katrina vocabulary
Katrina Kottage – your FEMA trailer
Katrinket – an item fished out of the trash
Katreasure – an item fished out of the trash that actually proves to be valuable

The last two were given to me by a friend who has been sifting through what remains of her mother’s store in Bay St. Louis, MS.


November 27th, 2005 08:39 pm
weekend nuttiness
What I love about living in New Orleans is the random kookiness. People are just crazy. I’m driving down Napoleon Avenue and there are a bunch of appliances in the middle of the neutral ground, a pretty common sight. And there are these women decorating the appliances and assorted piles of trash with Christmas decorations. These aren’t neo-hipsters or a modern variation on the Merry Pranksters; these are women on look like my Mom. And they are spray painting on the refrigerators, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. And then stringing lights up. It was so silly.

Good for them.


November 28th, 2005 04:17 pm
saga of the cell
For the record, I am sick of my cell phone and look forward to having a real landline again. I know this makes me 112 years old, but I don’t care. Verizon is no longer forgiving my overages. And I’ve tried to be good, so I am only $15 over this month. I consider this an accomplishment. My most expensive phone call? FEMA for $5.40, it would have been shorter, if I could have understood what the heavily accented woman was asking me.


November 29th, 2005 11:17 am
another boring roofing update
Since I’ve left a couple of messages for the roofers without response, I faxed them a letter this morning. Basically it said that they’ve had my money for a month and I wanted some action. Well, they called me within 20 minutes. Supposedly, my roofing materials are being stored in their northshore warehouse (which hasn’t been robbed), but they are no longer delivering supplies to homes until they are ready to use them. Because the supplies tend to wander away. So maybe they will start work by Friday.

03:14 pm
While at church on Sunday, I spotted a Saints flip calendar. No one had changed it for over a week, so I compulsively tore off the pages to the correct date. I noticed the Saint for November 25th was Catherine of Alexandria who was listed as the patron saint of “jurists, knife-grinders, librarians, mechanics, millers, philosophers, potters, spinsters, students and wheelwrights.” So this made me think of the scene in A New Kind of Love with Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. There’s a big scene about a St. Catherine’s festival where the unmarried shopgirls go crazy and chase after the men.

Anyway it’s good to know that we have more than St. Jerome. And evidently from the same website, we also have St. Lawrence. Who knew?

10:00 pm
dreams
Early this week I woke up very stressed out because in my dream I thought we had lost my grandfather during the storm/evacuation/chaotic aftermath. I was worried because I realized that I didn’t know where he was. Upon waking and continuing to worry, I realized that he passed away over 10 years ago. Weird. I think I was worried about his (even all these years later) because he suffered from dementia for the last years of his life and there were a couple of occasions where he wandered off and got lost.


November 30th, 2005 04:26 pm
OMG
My electrician just called. There is an 80% chance (his words) that I will have power by tomorrow evening!!!! From his lips to gods ears, please.

Leave a Reply

