Least favorite

I mended some clothes today and sewing is my least favorite domestic activity, but it does make me think about my grandmother, so that’s cool.

I have the remnants of my Mamere’s sewing box, so I always think of her…in fact I used some of her thread to mend my gray pants.  Now she could really sew and made much of her wardrobe when she was young.

Often she would carefully rip stitching out of a garment to be altered & reuse the thread. It went beyond using the perfectly matching thread, to a type of frugality I’ve never known.

Consider how many under $10 tshirts you own. And in of course my grandmother never wore t-shirts…although she could rock a mean dashiki.  I’ll have to hunt for her wearing one; I’m sure my Mom has one.

One thought on “Least favorite

Leave a comment