Blast from the past: LJ April 2006

April 4th, 2006 11:37 am
Officially child-less
After months of receiving phone calls from Hahnville HS, I actually spoke to a counselor there yesterday. He didn’t believe me when I told him that I had been getting wrong numbers from them for months because he asked the student yesterday if my cell number was the correct number and she said yes. I told him that the student was wrong. He then asked if her alternate number belonged to me and I said no. I think he thought I was just in on some scam with the kid.


April 5th, 2006 10:44 am
language pet peeve of the week
Learn the difference between metal and mettle before you post about the New Orleans mayor’s race, please.

06:46 pm
so dumb
I received an astronomical bill from the water company last month. But since I hadn’t received a bill in months and had a leak under the house, I thought it was within the realm of possibility. Well, it wasn’t. So now I have a credit of $350 with them. It will take me a year to whittle that down. And I’m sure they don’t give refunds.

09:12 pm
tv stuff
How much do I love Veronica Mars? When Veronica & Logan started dancing together? Whew!

Also, on CSI:NY some psycho guy just burst through the viewing glass to try to grab his dead wife. Crazy.

Can you tell I’m by myself in the BR apartment?


April 10th, 2006 09:23 am
My weekend
Friday night, we had dinner with Bri because his wife was out of town and he had pawned off the kids on his BIL. We ate our weight in sushi.

Saturday, LEM had to work but I was still up by 8:30. Before 9:30, I had built a bookshelf for the kitchen (the directions were insanely clear; I should call the company and complement them) and installed a new toilet seat (the old one got stained and always looked yucky). Then I had brunch with Bri and ate pancakes. I’ve been dreaming about pancakes, all fluffy and good, with cane syrup, of course. Then laundry and I put up a curtain rod in the bedroom. We had dinner with C (our former roommate), Quintulus, and C’s friend. Then off to the Pub to visit, dial_m. Because we visited she was insanely busy. If I ate meat I would have definitely been snacking on all the bacon.

Sunday, we fixed the back steps on the rental side. I went to the hardware store and then vandalized/marked the broken sidewalk in front of my house (stupid backhoe guys) so that drunks will quit tripping on it. I made my oldest niece a t-shirt for her birthday, age 20! Well, I didn’t make the t-shirt, but I did download the images that I then colored in paint and printed on transfer paper and then ironed them on. I think she liked the shirt, but was a little overwhelmed with the attention at my Mom’s.

So industrious…

09:50 am
Lucky #13
Book #13 was supposed to be a history about Genghis Khan and it’s really good, but it’s really dense, so I had to take a little break. And I do mean little.

I discovered Laurell Hamilton about 10 years ago. Her Anita Blake series was silly fun. The premise is that all the supernatural creatures of old horror movies are real and have been recognized as citizens of the U.S. But prejudices die hard, and our girl Anita is an authorized vampire executioner and federal marshal. 13 books later? The books have devolved into soft-core. The interesting plots are still there, but I have to wade through a lot (a LOT) of sex scenes to get there. It’s not that I’m prudish, but I’m getting bored. The characters are still interesting and the plots compelling, but I just don’t care about Anita’s (and all of her boyfriends’) sex life. It was all so much more fun when she delivered just a dash of sex along with the crazy plots. I blame Anne Rice.

To make matters more annoying, Micah is really a novella. I think Ms. Hamilton fell a little too in love with this character and wanted to give him his own little set piece. I should have known when the title of the book deviated from all the others (Bloody Bones, Laughing Corpse, etc). Still, I like the characters and I’m not ready to abandon them. So I’ll buy #14 Danse Macabre when it’s published in paperback sometime in the late fall probably. And I’m sure I’ll complain about the sex scenes again.


April 11th, 2006 11:05 am
all time favorite meeting playlist
I woke up this morning feeling heavy. I just couldn’t snap out of the first thing in the morning funk. It didn’t help that I had to call my STUPID, STUPID mortgage company to argue with them about insurance checks. When I left for BR, I felt close to tears for no apparent reason.

And then…

“I wanna be sedated” came on the radio. The Ramones were geniuses. And I feel better now.

11:36 am
forgot part of the last post
Anyway, I wanna be Sedated is one of the songs that loops through my brain when I’m stuck in really boring meetings. The other one is Institutionalized by Suicidal Tendencies. Or more mildly, I sometimes sing the “connect the dots” song from Pee Wee’s Playhouse.

03:09 pm
rejoining the USA
In just over 2 weeks, 701 zip codes will be rejoining the rest of the US and will again receive 2nd class mail. I cannot wait. I have already emailed my top 3 mags and told them to resume on that date. Its the little things that keep me happy.


April 12th, 2006 05:07 pm
Yuck
The pink jelly beans taste like soap.


April 14th, 2006 10:42 pm
so far so good
I have a lawn! And walkways! Since a porch renovation about 2 years ago, I have lacked walkways from the city sidewalk to my steps. This was no big deal before the storm, because you just walked across the grass. But since, the yard has been dirt & weeds which were tracked into the house. I now have lovely brick walkways (from my removed chimneys) and actual sod. I love green!

In other news I have had dinner with LEM’s family for 2 nights in a row and have not gotten into any sort of trouble, not even a reprimand!


April 18th, 2006 08:32 pm
crazy birds
On the way home today, I saw a small bird chasing a hawk through the sky. The bird kept swooping down and striking the hawk in the air. And the hawk was trying to get away. Crazy…

08:33 pm
Shout Out!
Veronica Mars just visited 2126 somewhere or other in Neptune. I view that as a shout out to me…


April 24th, 2006 08:56 am
guest weekend #1
Just had a great weekend with ordinarywhirled, we attended about a thousand family parties. And I think she saw all 20-whatever of her Louisiana relatives. Even my feuding brothers’ behaved.

Next weekend will be a more crowded. Instead of me, LEM, and Whirled, it will be me, LEM, Sassy, Sassy’s Man, his sister, BIL, and nephew. … In a house with one bathroom. I’m a little worried.


April 25th, 2006 04:56 pm
Found
I just posted my first ever submission to Found magazine. It’s a letter from 1952 that appeared on the sidewalk in front of my house. I’ll link to it, if they post it. I guess I should get a photo hosting site, but I’m lazy.

Now if I find the photo of the drag queens/leather men that found back in October on Camp St near 6th, I would definitely find a photo hosting site.


April 27th, 2006 10:47 am
work frustration
So I have not had a telephone at work since the storm and email is “sufficient to our communication needs.” Except that email has been wonky all morning and now has crashed compeletely again. So irritating.


April 28th, 2006 10:37 am
no good deed goes unpunished
I just realized that I heard a lawnmower. There are good samaritans cleaning my street, including mowing high grass. But my lawn guy said not to mow for a bit to give the grass time to take. So I had to run outside and ask them not to mow my lawn. I feel very ungrateful…

Leave a Reply

