Blast from the past: LJ June 2006

June 2nd, 2006 09:43 pm
back in the saddle
I actually worked in my library for a few hours today. I thought I was going to get one of our computer systems working, but that wasn’t in the network cards. So instead, I shelf read our rare books room. And moved lots of crumbling old books. Good times.


June 7th, 2006 10:24 pm
because I haven’t posted one in awhile
“Not so Close; I’m Not That Kind of Car”

10:36 pm
jealousy
On Saturday night, LEM & I saw the Blondie/New Cars tour in Chicago at Ravinia. And Blondie was awesome!!! She sang all her hits, but added some new twists to the instrumentations and just seemed like she was having a great time on stage. Ravinia was beautiful and it was fun to just recline on the lawn and have a picnic before the show. The Cars? Eh, not so much. The songs were trying to hard to be re-creations and with only two (I think) of the original members it seemed too museum-y after Blondie’s rockin’ set.


June 9th, 2006 11:33 pm
progress
This probably won’t mean much to anyone but sarakenobi but … in my ongoing saga to get our library ready for patrons on Monday, I got the ariel machines up and running this evening. That’s the first step in getting our ILL office back up to speed. I sort of can’t believe that network/firewall support was that cooperative. I only had to bug them for three days.


June 11th, 2006 11:01 am
27
I finished #27 on the plane home from Chicago. Mary Doria Russell’s A Thread of Grace is not a book that I would recommend reading in public. It’s plot revolves around Italian partisan’s at the end of WWII. On several occasions I had to put the book down because a chapter or even a paragraph delivered like a punch to my chest. But I couldn’t stop reading because I had to know what happened to these characters.

This is Russell’s third novel and her first two were also set in Italy (but in the future rather than the past). Each novel has dealt with religion, but not in a DaVinci Code way. Her books are about the ethics of religion and people who do the right thing for the wrong reasons and vica verse.

If you can take it, I highly recommend Thread of Grace; I’ve already loaned it to a co-worker. And yet I’m still grieving for a couple of characters who were killed late in the novel during an Allied bombing run…


June 13th, 2006 10:33 pm
Inspired by TRP
Had to delete most of my cell phone inbox and here are my favorite messages:
from Kins: large roast beef poboy
from Quintulus: Are you in town? And what do you know about knees?
from LEM: Bay City Rollers original costume. Half a wall of Duran Duran. (He was at the Rock-n-Roll Hall of Fame at the time.)
from Bryski: Miss that boney lovable lemur.


June 16th, 2006 08:20 am
It’s a gas
I realized yesterday that I had not bought gas since the 1st of June. I didn’t have to buy gas for a whole two weeks! And that’s with driving home from BR one time. So in 2 weeks I drove less than 170 miles. It feels good to be back to my old driving habits…

03:39 pm
1st full week
I’m closing in on the end of my first full week of work in a single space since the week of August 22nd. I was doing OK, even on my Monday when I worked a 10 hour day. But today, I am back to my candy binging ways. Thanks goodness for Nerds.


June 18th, 2006 03:51 pm
hot hot hot
As a ritual of summer, one of my window units went kaput yesterday afternoon. As a bonus, it blew out a cloud of really stinky chemical after a loud popping noise. So I’m sure I breathed in a deathcloud of something or other… or maybe it was just freon.

03:56 pm
wax figures are scary
Quick! Pick up the June OffBeat magazine if you’re in NOLA. If not, go to their website. A smaller version of the cover photo is available there. It features the wax figure of Ernie K-Doe (how did he survive the storm?) set up as if to eat dinner at Galatoire’s, next to his wife Miss Antoinette.

Even weirder, is that this isn’t the first time Ernie’s wax figure has been to Galatoire’s. Gotta love how we celebrate our eccentrics.


June 20th, 2006 11:17 pm
manners?
Somebody just called and asked for Tiffany when I said they had a wrong number, they said “right” and hung up. Whatever happened to Sorry?


June 21st, 2006 09:47 am
what a way to start the day
As I was walking the dog before 8 a.m. this morning, one of my ghetto neighbors (one of the ones who did not live in the ghetto house pre-K) was talking loudly on his cell. So I overhear, “she od’ed on the crack.” And then even louder, “You heard me; she overdosed on the crack. ”

Since the storm, one of the older men (the one I like to call Flavor Flav for his colorful wardrobe) has been shot and his crack whore girlfriend tried to hit me up for bandages and gauze because clearly my house looks like a drugstore. And some other random younger dude was taken out of the house in handcuffs in the middle of the night.

Gotta love city living.


June 22nd, 2006 09:24 am
too much operetta in the morning
I have Gilbert & Sullivan’s “Model of a Modern Major General” stuck in my head. Not so much the words but the staccato beat of the chorus. I think it matches the pounding headache…


June 27th, 2006 11:43 am
Weird
It’s been an odd set of days. With ALA in town, I spent a good part of the weekend at the convention center (with my Mom on Saturday) and ran into the evil ex-boss twice. It did not freak me out as bad as it did when I ran into him at Jazz Fest, maybe because I was warned.

On Sunday, I went out with shoe-Amy and was involved in all sorts of drama with her and her roommate. So I didn’t get home until really late.

Yesterday, brother #1 appeared at my door after work. He was visiting one of my neighbors and told me that he and SIL #1 have separated for good this time and he’s living back with my parents. Which is weird because I was with my Mom all day Saturday and she didn’t say anything. But ultimately, I think it is a good thing if it sticks. They have been separating and then getting back together for 3 (4?) years.

….
While I was typing this brother #2 called and there is some sort of confusion with my Mom’s minor surgery tomorrow. Mom has not been in the hospital since Quintulus was born and she’s never sick so the whole surgery thing is pretty weird in and of itself.


June 29th, 2006 11:53 am
Whew…
Mom’s OK. LEM is finally home. I’m looking forward to a 4 day weekend. The world is good.

12:02 pm
Using my powers for good since at least 1990…
Through my superpowers of persuasion and some luck from the timing gods, my feuding brothers appeared at my mother’s hospital bedside at the same time. My mother who is conniving in the sweetest way humanely possible, played her role as “mother in a hospital bed” beautifully. And made them stay and chat.

Leave a Reply

