Blast from the past: LJ July 2006

July 5th, 2006 03:01 pm
all blogged out?
I haven’t had much to say. And maybe it’s being back in my library and being stuck in front of my computer with tons of work. So when I think of things that I would blog I just don’t even feel like logging on.

So since I know you missed me, here’s a recap of my weekend:

  • Drinks with friends on Friday night
  • LEM & I mowed, raked, weeded and generally cleaned up the yard on Saturday morning.
  • Went shopping with Shoe-Amy in the afternoon.
  • Dinner with different friends on Saturday night.
  • Early church duty on Sunday morning.
  • Found one of the stray kittens in the backyard, morte, unfortunately.
  • Driving adventure to Baton Rouge on Sunday afternoon, including the road less traveled route so we could write up notes for future evacuations.
  • Dinner & cookie cake at my Mom’s for my nephew’s 11th birthday.
  • Monday morning and I played hooky and slept until 10 a.m.
  • Went and saw Cars with LEM; he loved it; I thought it was cute; kids in the theater seemed bored.
  • Moved furniture in the a.m. on Tuesday.
  • Drove around in a ’62 Corvette convertible and pretended to be glamorous.
  • Watched the Dirty Jobs marathon on Discovery; intermixed with the Project Runway marathon on Bravo! and the Overhauled marathon on TLC.
  • 03:21 pm
    28
    I was in a slump, but as I’m going on vacation next week (to the beach!), I should do better in July than I did in June.

    I finished Salt and Saffron over the weekend. While this is your basic “young woman trying to figure out who she is by figuring out who her family is” novel, it might as well have been science fiction at some points. Our main character is Pakistani and if you’re not up on your Indian/Pakistani history, you soon will be. Kamila Samsie has a lovely literary style and I enjoyed trying to figure out how all the family members were related. And I loved her point that what was unthinkable to our grandparents should be considered possible by the grandchildren.

    Which leads me to a story, especially for ordinarywhirled…
    Our grandmother once told me that her father was ostracized for a time from his family at the beginning of the 20th century because he of good french stock had married a german girl. Both families were merchant class; my great-grandfather owned a coffee producing company for awhile and his father (and brothers) were boat builders and my great-grandmother’s father was a shoe maker. So I think they were close in class, but maybe not. So while I know these stories, I will never really understand them because the world has changed too much. Thank goodness.


    July 7th, 2006 02:19 pm
    had to share – dirtycoast
    Whirled, I know I already sent you an email about the Grand Isle shirt, but really I had to share with the blogosphere.

    Tanyalita, there’s a Greatna shirt!


    July 11th, 2006 09:09 am
    we are the champions!!!
    Last night was my 2nd pub quiz night. The first time I went we didn’t even place. So it was quite the shock that we won first place this time. Prizes included CDs, t-shirts and a $20 bar tab.

    I didn’t really answer many questions. It was the geography round that tipped the scales in our favor and that was almost all brother #1.

    For the record the team was me, LEM, brother #1, cousin Kruh, cousin Houmus, and their girlfriends, along with assorted friends of Kruh who were of no use.

    02:35 pm
    flashback to adolescence
    It’s so exciting to be involved in a little LJ drama. It makes me feel like I’m in jr. high again.


    July 17th, 2006 10:34 am
    stuff I learned on my mini-summer vacation
    1. I am too old to drive for 11 hours each way with only 3 days in between.
    2. Spray sunblock does not work well on the windy beach.
    3. Ritzy people at cocktail parties think you are either kind or clever if you actually listen to what they say and respond in an intelligent way.


    July 18th, 2006 09:57 am
    suck
    We sucked at Pub Quiz last night. The team was small, just Kruh, not-Ber, me, and Brother #1. LEM couldn’t face a smokey bar with his cough and Quintulus was in Arkansas for work.

    But, in our defense, this week’s quizzers were sort of lame. And they kept doing shots so that by the end of the night, you could barely understand what they were saying. Amazingly, we did OK on the picture round despite the fact that it involved identifying cigarette brands by their packaging. My years of working menial retail jobs paid off because Pall Mall hasn’t changed their logo in decades.

    I found out from one of the regulars that you sign up months in advance to be the Quizzer. His turn is in a couple of weeks and he told me to expect a Neil Diamond round. Sweet.


    July 19th, 2006 08:31 am
    We interupt your regular broadcast…
    I am in love with my new toothbrush, the Oral-B Advantage for sensitive gums. It’s a silly thing to have become enamored of, but I can’t help it. And if it prevents the dentist from fussing at me for brutalizing my gums so much the better.

    03:49 pm
    now my brain really hurts
    I just spent several hours and numerous emails with our network folks, so that I could access the webpage of a local hospital. There were some other issues, but that was one of them. The problem was that we are all on the same network, sort of. So we have to have permission to visit each other or something.


    July 21st, 2006 01:59 pm
    Someone please help
    I have had Shakira’s “Hips Don’t Lie” stuck in my head all day. I made the mistake of turning on VH1 while waiting for the fence guy to show up this morning. (And, of course, he didn’t.)

    I had supper the other night with a friends of LEM’s Mom and the 17 year old daughter and I discussed the mesmerizing affect of Shakira’s dancing.


    July 24th, 2006 09:36 am
    Tired
    LEM’s birthday party was a success on Saturday night. We packed quite the crowd into our 1000 sq ft shotgun house. I think the max occupancy was exceeded and our poor A/C units sure couldn’t keep up. But I think everyone had a good time. I know LEM did and that’s the most important thing.

    11:20 am
    Must stop eating my Mom’s cheese straws (left over from party). I’m going to turn into one.


    July 25th, 2006 10:30 am
    Weather Wiz
    Brother #4, Quintulus, is pretty funny. Last night we’re standing on my porch talking about the rain and he said, “You can tell this is a tropical system because the rain is fine and driving. If it were normal summer rain, then the drops would be big and fat and slow.”

    I just think that’s really funny.

    01:31 pm
    pub quiz
    And we were in 5th place last night (so no prizes). Brothers 1 & 4 were pissed because they felt we should have gotten a 1/2 point on one question in the final round. The points were so close that 1/2 point would have put us in 2nd or 3rd because it was our doubled round. The team last night was just the three of us, so a little weird, but OK.

    The team next to us was cheating off of us we’re pretty sure. Luckily, they nabbed some of our stupider jokey answers.


    July 26th, 2006 09:47 pm
    another milestone
    I actually received a catalog in the mail today. The first since last August. Now if I could just get some of my magazines…


    July 28th, 2006 01:22 pm
    Inventory does pay
    I was shelfreading in rare books again today. And I’m pretty sure that I found a pamphlet from 1777 that we didn’t know we owned. How cool is that?

    Leave a Reply

    