Blast from the past: LJ November 2006

November 1st, 2006 07:07 pm
13 months later
I finally received IN THE MAIL my first Entertainment Weekly since the storm. I can’t believe it.


November 6th, 2006 11:04 am
not so mystic…
I often have a rubber band (official hair kind sold my better retailers everywhere) around my wrist so that I can put my hair up at a moment’s notice.

Over the weekend, the rubber band happened to be red.

I was asked if I was wearing a kabbalah bracelet, because, y’know, I’m super-trendy like Madonna and Lindsey Lohan.


November 14th, 2006 10:46 am
more boring house stuff
Finally,progress
While we were jetting of to NYC on Friday, the framing carpenter showed up and fixed the 50 year old termite damage to the upper sill on the rental side.

Today, the painters are supposed to start! LEM and I were scrambling to actually decide on colors.


November 16th, 2006 08:21 am
Cher!
Someone was in a mood last night at Juan’s. I heard Half-Breed and Gypsies, Tramps, & Thieves. Of course, because I was with Quintulus and my cousin’s fiance, they were too young to even know the songs and could not appreciate my enthusiasm. If I hadn’t forgotten my cell at home, I would have texted Whirled.


November 21st, 2006 08:40 am
fun in the medical library
Yesterday, I was shifting journals in the Old & Rare room and I had help from one of the guy associates. He accidentally knocked an entire booktruck of journals over on himself. The title? Archiv fur Dermatologie et Syphologie. That’s right, he dumped an entire load of syphilis on himself. Who says you can’t have fun in the library?

08:53 am
on a more serious note
When did my parents get so old?
My parents are never sick, never. They are just the energizer bunnies of retirees.

But my Mom had to have surgery this past summer for an infected gall bladder and it’s the only time she’d ever been in the hospital except to have her herd of children.

Well, now Dad seems to have been misdiagnosed by his primary physician. He evidently fainted in the yard sometime last year and then was concerned enough to go to the doctor, a miracle really. Well, he just the doctor didn’t even check his heart last year, or again, when he went to get a clearance to start going with my Mom to a senior fitness program. When he went back for a check up this year, they finally checked his heart and referred him to a cardiologist. The cardiologist told him that he’s already had a couple of heart attacks and asked him what he was taking for cholesterol, etc. The answer, of course, is nothing.

It’s not like my Dad is thin and in shape. C’mon, physicians, use your brains.


November 26th, 2006 12:54 pm
latest books
#44 – Traitor of the Blood by Barb & CJ Hendee – #4 in the Noble Dead series and I’m running out of steam for these brain candy novels.

#45 – Best Nonrequired American Reading 2006 edited by David Eggers – a fabulously eclectic collection from the new Iraq constitution (OK, I only read a page or so) to best new American band names to short stories to graphic short stories (meaning cartoons not hardcore).

#46 – Blood Memories by Barb Hendee – I have no excuse, but sometimes you just need to read the equivalent of a pixie stick.


November 30th, 2006 10:43 am
whew
Mom just called and Dad is already done at the hospital. He went in for an angiogram. But after getting into his veins, they decided to go ahead and clear the blockage in his two arteries. One was cleared with a stint and the other with a baloon. So no further surgery needed. Yea! that. He’ll stay in the hospital overnight (the first time since he was a little boy), but will head home tomorrow.

BIG SIGH O’RELIEF.

Leave a Reply

