Blast from the past: LJ December 2006

December 6th, 2006 08:38 am
blah
I feel too boring to actually post.

I almost quit my job yesterday, but only in my mind. The mortgage payments were to present in my mind to actually quit.

On the other hand LEM & I did pick up a lovely tree yesterday, so maybe decorating will put me back in a holiday frame of mind.


December 7th, 2006 09:20 am
random crying
I watched this weeks Studio 60 on the web last night. I missed the episode on Monday because I was out shopping with Quintulus and of course I forgot to tape it.

As soon as the New Orleans musicians started playing in the middle of the show, I burst into tears. I guess, it’s good to know we’re not forgotten sometimes. But I thought I was done with random crying. Guess not.

Oh, and the painters finished yesterday, so that that means the gutter people can come back and finish too. Now if I just get the fences fixed, the exterior might be finished. Well…except for the whole insulation thing.

11:17 pm
trippin’
I’m off to Nashvegas tomorrow to visit my friend Claire and her family. I haven’t seen them since they left Louisiana, so I hope it’s a good visit. I don’t think I’m prepared for snow and under 20 degree weather though.


December 13th, 2006 10:25 am
Books
#47 – In the Devil’s Garden by Stewart Lee Allen. Not a book to be read while you’re eating, this history of forbidden foods is fascinating and gross. The 7 deadly sins structure doesn’t really work, but I’ll give the author a pass on that one. And really, who knew that the Romans loved to stuff so many small animals in jars to fatten them up?

#48 – The Faery Reel edited by Ellen Datlow and Terry Windling. Modernized fairy tales, perfect airplane reading.

#49 – the Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce. Pierce revisits the children from her to circle series (4 books apiece). The book had it’s moments, but I think I’m done with these characters.


December 22nd, 2006 11:36 am
Christmas Cheer
Last night in a frenzy of Holiday cooking, I made 2 batches of cookies (neither of which is actually baked yet because the dough had to chill), 1 batch of strawberry bread, and 1 batch of exotic nut brittle. More crazed baking tonight.


December 27th, 2006 05:28 pm
Whew
Survived another hectic Christmas. Sometimes I don’t know if its a good thing or not that most of our family lives in the GNO. Both LEM’s step-Mom and my Mom were being somewhat insane at their home functions. So that was fun. But no one burst into tears so all and all an OK day.

Yesterday, I spoke to LEM and noone else AND I never stepped foot out of the house, the perfect day after Christmas.


December 28th, 2006 12:41 am
late night TV
OK. I know I have terrible taste in television. I can’t help it.

So while watching The Girls Next Door, all the ads were for guy on guy chat lines, the word curious was used several times. What?

While watching the William Shatner Roast all the ads were for Girls Gone Wild. Also, Farrah Fawcett is really, really sad. And you get to hear Betty White say cock ring.


December 31st, 2006 12:03 am
how I spent the 2nd to last night of 2006?
Watching Xanadu. I don’t know that I’ve seen it since the 80s, but I still remembered a few scenes perfectly, but, boy, is the ending a train wreck. LEM couldn’t believe that was what I wanted to watch and he tried to tough it out, especially when he recognized the guy from the Warriors but he couldn’t deal with it.

Is it wrong that I sort of want Olivia Newton-John’s hair? Not in most of the movie where she’s wearing the ribbon barrettes (been there, done that), but towards the end where it’s a little more modern, but still fabulously almost 70s.

As a curious side note, it turns out that Muse #1 was played by Sandahl Bergman who also played both Conan’s lover, Valeria, in the first Conan movie and also played Red Sonja in the movie of the same name. These amazingly bad movies were the impetus for my first date with LEM. He bet me that the actress in both (I forget which one we were watching) was the same woman, but I disagreed. I think there was a dinner riding on the bet. And the rest is history.

Leave a Reply

