Blast from the Past: LJ February 2007

February 1st, 2007 08:39 am
odd stuff from the drive in
Lots of blocked streets this morning, maybe that means work is actually getting done?

I saw a guy in a suit and tie walking over the Broad St. overpass in the pouring (and chilly) rain. Maybe his court date was postponed.

In attempt to find music to soothe me during my traffic snafus, I happened across the insidious “London Bridge.” Of course, less than second was all that was needed for it to become an earworm. Aargh!
11:24 am
more fun in rare books
I have found some treasures working in the rare books room over the last 7 months. But today I found a bound volume that at first appeared to be a journal from 1878-1879. Upon closer inspection, it’s only the advertisements from the front of the journal and not the actual articles. Who bound this (and it was done a long time ago)? My personal favorite ads:
“Liebig Company’s Extract of Meat”
“Encore Whisky – ‘may be safely consumed as an alcholic stimulant’ or ‘such an excellent dietetic stimulant deserves a wide-spread reputation.’ or ‘remarkably free from fusel oil, wholesome and pleasant'” All of the quotes were from various medical journals of the day.
And don’t get me started on the ads for baths and “receptacles.”


February 5th, 2007 09:23 am
Superbowl?
How did I spend Sunday? Watching some GENIUS counterprogramming on Animal Planet. That’s right it was Puppy Bowl III.

Hi-larious
09:16 pm
January books
I was kind of a slacker last month compared to other Januarys. I only read 2 novels, 1 anthology, 2 books on food and cooking, and 1 comic book.
Novels:
One Thousand White Women by Jim Ferguson – a gift from the fabulous ordinarywhirled. Fascinating concept, great atmosphere, but some of the characters were a little too pat.
the Blue Girl by Charles de Lint – Normally I love de Lint’s Newford set books, but this one reads like YA fiction. It’s still good, but not great.

Anthology:
Best Nonrequired Reading 2005 edited by Dave Eggers – Obviously not as timely as the 2006 edition, but still worth reading. There was actually a short story in the collection from a book I read in January 2006 by Rattawut Lapcharoensap.

Cooking/Food:
French Cheese a DK book – a gift from Quintulus for my birthday. There are some scary looking cheeses in the world.
Cheeselovers Cookbook and Guide by Paula Lambert – inspired by Quintulus’ gift. There is a recipe for Waldorf salad with Brie dressing. mmmmmm

Comic Book:
Rex Libris #6 – I just need another librarian action hero in my life, OK?


February 9th, 2007 10:47 pm
Parades 1-4
Parade #1 was last weeks Krewe d’Vieux which I watched from a balcony on Royal. My cousin had been invited, so I crashed with LEM and friends in tow.

Parade #2-3 were Oshun & Pygmalion on St. Charles ave this evening. Both were small but fun. I really liked the stepping groups in Oshun, excellent DJs.

Parade #4 was Excalibur in Metry. It took forever to get to us and the temperature kept dropping so I think I was too cold to really enjoy it. And as long as that route is, I ended up within 10 feet of brother #1 and 2 nieces. Crazy.

And I am happy to report the return of Elmer’s CheeWees. I’ve missed them since the storm.


February 12th, 2007 08:53 am
So bad it makes her cry…
I’ve been having some issues with extreme frustration; it’s not quite as bad as dial_m’s RAGE™. But bad none the less.

On Friday (right before I was to leave) there was an incident. One of those things that makes me want to quit my job and walk out, but, of course, I didn’t. I went home and drank a bunch of rum, but still didn’t get drunk. And then forgot about it.

Until last night…
Brother #2 noticed that a tire on the Katrina-Truck was low. So on the way to the airport to retrieve LEM, I decided to stop and fill it up. I had to go to 8 gas stations to find one with a working air hose. So with a snoot full of frustration, it brought back all my angst from Friday.

Now I’m sitting quietly at my desk and trying to find a polite way to tell everyone to piss off.
10:21 am
Ha!
And the word of the day on my calendar is offal. Perfect.


February 13th, 2007 08:24 am
another day, another disaster
My neighborhood was not hit by tornadoes last night. But I know a couple of people who lost their cars and the volunteers that LEM used to work with had all the windows blown out on their house. We had tornadoes this time last year too; C & T’s house was hit and walls collapsed.

Can we please catch a break?


February 14th, 2007 09:54 am
KC #13
Yesterday, I had a piece of Wh0le Foods KC. It was OK; I think it was trying to be a McKen3ie style. It didn’t really work. I can’t believe that my clothes still fit.


February 15th, 2007 10:19 am
food fantasies
I am sitting at my desk dreaming of biscuits. Yummy biscuits dripping with butter.


February 16th, 2007 09:30 am
news from the hood
My next door neighbor (who is a sheriff) had her car stolen Wednesday night. I’m too worried because her car was a Dodge Intrepid which has been the most stolen car in New Orleans for a few years.

The first of the MG houseguests arrived. Sassy and her little dog will be with us through Tuesday night. Her husband/boy-toy will arrive on Sunday, as will my “kins-twin.”

It was absolutely freezing last night at the p-rades. But I did manage to catch a Muses flip-flop keyring for ordinarywhirled because I know you really want one.

So far the max number of folks I’ve had in the house before or after a parade has been 6. I those numbers will double this weekend. *Edit* My selective memory there were over 10 people on Wednesday and 3 of them were under 6. New house rule: If you hit the dog with a sword, you are put out on the street.

Only 5 more hours at work and I’ll get to go home and take a nap.

Leave a Reply

