Blast from the past: LJ March 2007

March 2nd, 2007 08:44 am
Word for today
Theanthropic which is one of those words that makes sense that it exists, but I’ve just never run across it before.

And just for the record, the evil Mardi Gras flu did not kill me. I just wished it had for a couple of days. Now if the cough would go away, I would be back to what passes for normal…


March 3rd, 2007 01:05 pm
February books
I can’t believe that I actually finished 6 books in February, considering Mardi Gras and how sick I was last week. I was home for 5 days straight but didn’t read at all because my eyes burned too much.

I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence by Amy Sedaris; this Christmas gift started out really strong, but sort of fell apart a little at the end.

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman; I loved the juxtaposition between locales (England and Florida) and I always enjoy the trickster gods.

Gods & Pawns by Kage Baker; this book of short stories about the characters in the company is a sufficient snack until the next novel comes out.

Sand in my Bra edited by Jennifer Leo; women’s travel essays which were mostly pretty silly, but someone must have liked it enough to spawn 2 sequels.

The Sandman v.2: Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman; the 2nd graphic novel in the Morpheus series and I didn’t think it was as strong as the 1st.

Mama Makes up her Mind by Bailey White; small, short essays which could only be strengthened if the author was reading them to you.


March 5th, 2007 10:16 am
puppy news
Miss Sienna will be going in for surgery tomorrow morning. Another one of her joints has decided to give up. She’s been limping for a couple of months, but on Friday, she stopped using her back left leg all together. Poor doggie. She will have her entire left knee rebuilt. And the recovery is 8 weeks in a kennel.

We went out and bought a larger wire-type crate for her. Her beloved donut bed fits inside. But she does not like the enclosure. She acts like it will collapse at any moment. But once we convince her to go inside then she’ll curl up and go to sleep. We’ll see how she does after the surgery.

This is her 2nd major joint surgery. The last time was when she was about 18 months old. A bone chip had worked her way into a front elbow (the right one so she has bad joints on opposite sides of the body). The same veterinary orthopedist will be doing the surgery. (Yes, Log, the same one who saw Ferdie.)

I’m not sure how many days she’ll stay in the hospital. Hopefully only a day or so, we don’t want her to think she is abandoned.


March 6th, 2007 11:01 am
burning cars
So on Saturday evening another vehicle was stolen from my street. This time it was my neighbor to the right (not the abandoned house next door, but the next one). His truck was stolen between 5 and 6:30 p.m. Yesterday, he got a phone call from the fire department. His truck was on fire less than 6 blocks away. Why?

The car that was stolen less than 2 weeks ago (from my neighbors on the left) has still not turned up.

I’m not leaving anything important in either of our vehicles. Although LEM’s car at least has an alarm. So I guess my Katrina-truck is more vulnerable.
01:59 pm
Whew-
Sienna-girl is out of surgery and is already “somewhat alert.” She did really well and will probably come home on Thursday.


March 8th, 2007 10:15 am
seriously frustrating
I came into work this morning for 7 so that I could update our ILL managment software without disrupting the workflow. So, of course, the updates didn’t work exactly right. And whenever you launch the main client, errors are generated forever until the program locks up and then you have to force quit. When I called technical support (and was on the phone with them for 2 hours), they had never heard of or seen my special issue. So now it’s being kicked upstairs to the original support team. Meanwhile we are dead in the water.

I deserve a Little Debbie Swiss Roll as my 2nd breakfast.
03:49 pm
Poor Baby
Sienna is home and is whimpering in pain. Poor Doggie. She now has a metal plate and six screws in her leg.


March 9th, 2007 09:37 am
Doggie Update – Day 1 @ home
Poor girl, she just cried and whimpered for the 1st hour she was home. Then she fell asleep until this morning. She’s in alot of pain. Poor LEM feels terribly guilty to have inflicted the pain on her. I don’t know if his back will survive carrying her up and down the steps to go do her business. And I’m worried if she has to go when I’m the only one home. She’s just too big for me to pick up. I guess I’ll rely on the kindness of neighbors if need be.


March 12th, 2007 09:37 am
past weekend
Sienna is doing better and becoming resolved to her new life in the pen. She seems to be in less pain and has stopped crying. Her hair is already starting to grow back and I can tell it is very itchy; we rubbed olive oil into the worst parts yesterday.

In other news, on Saturday morning the truck had a flat tire. Of course, it was a different tire than the one that has had a slow leak since before Mardi Gras. And we noticed a nail in a third tire. Luckily, we were able to fill up the flat tire (the spare it turns out is dry rotted) and rush off to a tire place. They were able to plug all 3 tires and the bill was under $100.

Also, we went to our first crawfish boil of the season. Nice sized bugs, but they needed to be spicier. And saw the 300 last night. Lots of gratuitous blood and booby shots, but still pretty good.


March 13th, 2007 10:16 am
new pic
Sienna is doing really well. She is adjusting to life in jail and is very happy to be getting a little canned food with her dry. Sunday was hard because she could hear/smell the neighborhood dogs playing outside. And here’s a photo of her wearing my scarf from the night of Muses, I think.
Sienna Dog


March 14th, 2007 09:41 am
outta here
I’m off to Virginia Beach this morning for a conference. At least the weather is better than last week there. Last Monday I checked the temperature and it was 35. Today it’s supposed to be 75. Sounds like wacky New Orleans weather.

Today will be a test for Miss Sienna. We are expecting rain and thunderstorms. I wonder how she’ll do.


March 15th, 2007 07:29 am
stinky
I’m in Virginia Beach (free WiFi in the room) and the power went out randomly last night. So now there is no water for this entire city block. I’ve been awake for over an hour waiting to take a shower. My first meeting is 30 minutes and the conference hotel is a 10-15 minute walk away. This is not good.


March 19th, 2007 10:40 pm
Sorry
It’s all our fault…the whole pet food recall thing.

We have never fed any of our pets wet food. A week and a half after Sienna has canned food added to her diet, pets die. Of course, the cans we bought were part of the recall. Sienna had already eaten all of two cans and part of a third. She seems fine. So we just carry the curse.


March 21st, 2007 09:14 am
stress
A day full of interviews at my liberry. I find them very tiring and stressful and I’m not even the one being interviewed. I’m hoping for no crash-and-burns, but you just never know from paper.


March 23rd, 2007 10:37 am
I am RainMan
I went to sales/training seminar yesterday for a medical book review service. The trainer was emphasizing the current nature of the materials, but mentioned that the oldest book in the database was from 1969. He offered a candy bar to whoever could guess the book and then added that no one ever guesses correctly. I thought about it for a moment and guessed K*bler-R0ss 0n Death & Dy1ng. He was stunned. I am an idiot savant.
04:53 pm
excitement @ work
Why were a bunch of librarians glued to the windows on one side of our library yesterday and today? Because extreme foulness was being removed.

A dumpster floated onto the sidewalk during the flood. That dumpster has sat in the same location since then. It probably had garbage in it from 2005. No one would claim it. And in the meantime garbage continued to be piled into it. We particularly liked the ooze that could be seen trailing out of the bottom even 3 stories up.

It did not belong to my institution but our facilities folks ended up taking the dirty detail. First they picked off all the newer garbage from the top. Then the shoveled out some of the foulness to clear a hole for the pump because the dumpster was full to the top with liquid (I choose to think it originated as rainwater). Then the whole dumpster was removed.

Today they pressure washed the sidewalk for several hours and it looks almost as good as new. It only took 19 months.


March 25th, 2007 11:14 pm
We got the news this weekend that a good friend was diagnosed with breast cancer on Friday. (For folks who made either of the big parties that we’ve thrown recently, it’s the funny drunk guy’s wife.) I hope that she will be OK. Her mother died of breast cancer at age 30, so my friend has always been extremely high risk. Her sons are only 6 and 5 (a single and a set of twins). She knows they need her and she’s deciding right now how aggressively to treat the cancer. My response in the short term will probably be to bake them a lasagna and then see what else they need.


March 26th, 2007 11:06 am
statistical improbability
Crazy story from the UK. A couple of mixed race teenagers (both have black father and white mothers) gave birth to a set of twins. One twin appears to be white and the other appears to be black. Odds are a million to one. I wonder what Linnaeus would say?


March 27th, 2007 09:27 am
fatted calf
I feel like we are raising veal. Sienna had her surgery 3 weeks ago today. She’s doing really well, but has decided she likes lazing in her cage so much that she doesn’t want to leave, even to pee. We have to lure her out with treats. She went out once yesterday at 6 p.m. and all she did was #1. So when she started crying this morning at 6 a.m., we thought she needed to go out. No, she just wanted to eat. When I left at 8:15, she was still refusing to leave her cage. I think she’s just enjoying being contrary.


March 30th, 2007 05:21 pm
good day / bad day / great day
I left work early (good) because I had to go to the dentist (not so good). But right before I left, the tech boys came and set up my fabu new computer (really good). And then at the dentist I found out that I need to have 3 teeth crowned over the next 6 months (really bad). After I left the dentist, I got a text from LEM saying that our friend’s lumpectomy results are in and it looks really good; the tumor was small and well-formed (great!).

Leave a Reply

