Titanic 100 years later

LoC: The Titanic sailing in ocean

My first knowledge of the whole Titanic mythos came from Upstairs Downstairs; there is episode where the character of a Lady’s Maid (Roberts according to Wikipedia) is a Titanic survivor. I remember being deeply affected by the character and plotline…of course, I was under age 8 probably when I saw it.

When the Kate & Leo movie came out, I wasn’t a huge fan. I thought the special effects were good and the costuming was great. But I wasn’t moved by the modern day story and I thought it was OK.  (My cousin, of course, has a different opinion.)

So why 100 years later are we still talking about this tragedy? I think it’s the way humanity’s technological hubris crashed completely into Mother Nature and we learned who wins in the end. I think it sits in our collective imaginations as a modern day cautionary tale (like don’t talk to wolves in the forest) to never call anything unsinkable/unbreakable/indestructible. You’re just asking Mother Nature to go after you, if you do.

Still interested? Check out the Library of Congress‘ blog post, An Unsinkable Legacy.

One thought on “Titanic 100 years later

  1. Love the photo caption: “The Titanic sailing in the ocean.” Why this makes me laugh, I’m unsure. JACK DAWSON FOREVER OMG SQUEEEEEEE!

Leave a Reply

