Blast from the past: LJ April 2007

April 1st, 2007 03:12 pm
March reads
I slowed down a little in March because I’ve been reading a history of the Magna Carta since mid-Month. It’s good but dense; I have to lighten it up with reading magazines.

Wolf Hunting by Jane Lindskold – brain candy serialized novels. Luckily this one is a step up from the last one so I probably won’t give up yet.

Sandman v.3: Dream Country by Neil Gaiman – this volume is much more of a series of short stories rather than a cohesive graphic novel. I really liked the Midsummer’s Night’s Dream entry.

Faith & Betrayal by Sally Denton – a personal history based on the diaries of a Englishwoman who moved to Salt Lake City at its inception. Fascinating, but the author (a descendant) is so really anti-Mormon.

Sort of Rich by James Wilcox – I’ve enjoyed other of Wilcox’s Louisiana set novels, but this one was just tedious. If I hadn’t been on a plane, I don’t know if I would have finished it.


April 2nd, 2007 08:35 pm
What?
Billy Ray Cyrus dancing to a Tango version of Rock the Casbah. I think Joe Strummer just died a little more…


April 4th, 2007 11:36 am
Crazy Dog
Although it is just shy of three weeks, Sienna decided her leg was well enough to jump off the porch. This is why the puppies must stay kenneled for 8 weeks. She landed on the leg, but not hard and it didn’t seem to bother her. LEM on the other hand had a heart attack.


April 9th, 2007 09:10 am
Odd long weekend
I had Kung Fu Fighting stuck in my head yesterday.

I was bitten by a horse; luckily, he was just playing.

A boy I played spin the bottle with in the 8 (or 9th) grad was in Entertainment Weekly.

All and all not much happened.
09:45 am
what a way to start the week…
And you know it’s going to be a strange week when the first song that you hear after turning on the radio is Paul Anka singing Smells Like Teen Spirit.


April 18th, 2007 10:17 am
Illicit cats
On my way home yesterday, a creepy-creepy man caught my attention. I think he was really creepy because of his body language and slicked back hair mostly. He had pulled up into the driveway of small apartment building and was stalking up the front walk. He whipped out a camera and took photos of the two cats lounging in the front window. I think someone is going to get evicted for illicit cats.


April 23rd, 2007 05:00 pm
extended sentence
Sienna girl went back to the surgeon today. Her leg is healing well. But the vet wants her to stay in the kennel for another 4 weeks. That will total 10 weeks, I feel like we’ve been baited and switched. Her leg needs time to strengthen. Sienna is dying to go out in the yard and run around and bark at all the neighbor dogs.


April 30th, 2007 09:18 pm
channel surfing jackpot
Sean Cassidy on Matlock. And people wonder why I have cable.
09:59 pm
Because of my previous post
I turned off the telly and switched to my book. I am currently reading a book of short stories about my fair city (recommended by ordinarywhirled’s Mom.

The story that I’m on is by Mark Twain and it opens with his observations (from 1883, or 20 years later) of the effect of the civil war on northerners vs.southeners. Here’s the paragraph that caught my eye:
The case is very different in the South. There, every man you meet was in the war; and every lady you meet saw the war. The war is the great chief topic of conversation. The interest in it is vivid and constant; the interest in other topics is fleeting. Mention of the war will wake up a dull company and set their tongues going, when nearly any other topic would fail. In the South, the war is what A.D. is elsewhere: they date from it. All day long you hear things ‘placed’ as having happened since the waw; or du’in’ the waw; or befo’ the waw; or right aftah the waw; or ‘bout two yeahs or five yeahs or ten yeahs befo’ the waw or aftah the waw. It shows how intimately every individual was visited, in his own person, by that tremendous episode. It gives the inexperienced stranger a better idea of what a vast and comprehensive calamity invasion is than he can ever get by reading books at the fireside.

Substitute Katrina for the war and I think it holds true. I expect we’ll still be talking about pre-k and post-k for the rest of our lives…

Leave a Reply

