Blast from the past: LJ May 2007

May 2nd, 2007 10:28 am
Further adventures in acupuncture
I’ve been using acupuncture for a few months to take care of numbness & pain in my right arm and hand.

Yesterday’s treatment was really different. I was on my back and had 2 needles in my hand and 2 or 3 in my forearm. (I also had 2 in my head and 2 in my neck but that was for my sinuses.) As I lay there, I had to keep checking my arm to make sure it was still by my side. It felt like my whole arm was twisting in the wind. Totally weird. The acupuncturist said that it was because all the muscles, tendons, etc in my arm were uncoiling from their unnaturally constricted state.
08:25 pm
April book diary
Man, I was a slacker last month. Too much TV, I think.

Definitly Dead by Charlaine Harris – supernatural “mysteries” that take place in North Louisiana. I don’t think these are very mystery-like though. This one takes place partially in New Orleans, pre-K.

Death: the High Cost of Living by Neil Gaiman – another graphic novel but this one features Death as the main character.

1215: The Year of the Magna Carta by Danny Danzinger and John Gillingham – it actually took me several weeks to get through this one. But it was really interesting, I love historical works that tie together all sorts of disparate issues. Kind of like the old PBS show, Connections.

So while I only read 3 books in April, I have actually finished my first book for May.


May 3rd, 2007 01:22 pm
High-Falutey
I forgot to mention that I have been invited to High Tea by the Duchess of York. Of course, it’s a fundraiser and I doubt that she will be in New Orleans. But I still think it’s amusing.


May 4th, 2007 10:01 am
exactly
Today’s word is discombobulate. Very appropriate.


May 10th, 2007 04:10 pm
sluggish?
Today’s word is limacine. Perfect description of my mood…


May 16th, 2007 10:03 pm
Yes!
The location of Santa with guns was raided today for irregular practices!

I particularly like the ATF agent with a plastic bag on her head to protect her ‘do.


May 18th, 2007 03:06 pm
the Wells Fargo Wagon is a coming….
I ordered the most fabulous shoes ever yesterday from Zappo’s. The UPS web site of torment still says “out for delivery” since 8:30 this morning. I want to know that they are waiting on my porch, tempting the ghetto neighbors to thievery.


May 20th, 2007 10:20 pm
crashed!
Tonight we had the 1st niece’s graduation party at a French Quarter restaurant. 7 got restless pretty quickly and ran around (with some supervision) the whole 2nd floor. Towards the end of the evening, she saw some other children on the other side of the restaurant and ran over to meet them. So 7 crashed Ke11y Rippa’s dinner party. My brother retrieved her and apologized, and they were really nice about it.

It’s been a long time since I posted about a non-celebrity sighting…


May 21st, 2007 02:20 pm
Excuse me?
I was looking on Amazon.com this morning for cushions…for my shoes. And what pops up on the “Customers with Similar Searches Purchased” list? a Lover’s Cushion

Can’t folks make do with an old pillow or something?
05:09 pm
sleepy, so sleepy
I’m working the evening shift today and while it was great to sleep in this morning; it’s 5 p.m. and I want to go home and take a nap. Maybe it was the jumbo piece of cake (leftover from the 1st niece’s party) that I ate with lunch.

Less than 3 hours until I get home…
And I’m going to miss the first 15 minutes of Heroes. Tragedy.
05:56 pm
excuse me
The burping man has returned! We haven’t seen him since before the storm. It’s good to know he’ll go back to annoying the evening staff each night with his bodily noises.

*edit* even weirder…he’s been here for 45 minutes and I’ve heard no burps, urps or hisses. Maybe he’s cured?


May 22nd, 2007 11:57 am
who’s the adult
My Mom (who is turned 68 last week) sent me an email with the word, “kuz” in it, as in short for because. This from the woman who proofread papers more harshly than teachers. I think I need someone to blame…


May 24th, 2007 01:08 pm
The big D taking over your life one aspect at a time…
Because it’s not enough to go on your honeymoon to the happiest place on earth; and because it’s not enough to get the bride and groom MM ears while you’re there; now you can actually be a princess on your wedding day!

From the press release: “As a tribute to fairy tale wishes and finding true love, Disney today will unveil a new collection of wedding gowns inspired by the spirit and style of each Disney Princess.”

While talking about this at lunch, the only male employee left in our library said that he thought the dresses are a good thing. If your bride to be wants one, then you know not to run away and not marry her.


May 31st, 2007 01:59 pm
Better than TV
Right outside my window, giant fuel tanks are being moved. First they jackhammered the concrete (last week); then they dug trenches and put in braces; and today the fuel tanks were excavated. As they lifted the two fuel tanks (each easily the size of an SUV), they even tagged the parking structure next to the excavation site. Good times!

Leave a Reply

