Blast from the past: LJ June 2007

June 1st, 2007 01:13 pm
ouch
I spent over 3 hours in the dentist’s chair this morning. She offered to make me a gold crown with a diamond in it for my new crown. Disappointingly, I said no. I am now on drugs and plan to go to sleep. That’s the only good part about dental work…and maybe my teeth not falling out of my head.


June 5th, 2007 11:51 am
the gun corner!
Several years ago we had a patron stash a revolver in the library. It’s a long, silly story. Essentially the guy was trying to track down his girlfriend who was a student at our institution. Anyway that corner is forever known as the gun corner and we are suspicious of folks who linger there.

Now, another city university library has a gun shelf!
10:17 pm
May reads
So I’m a few days late…
New Orleans Stories edited by John Miller – recommended by my aunt, ordinarywhirled’s Mom. Good mixture of stories ranging over 350 years.

Regeneration by Julie Czerneda – a strong conclusion to a sci-fi trilogy; the main character is a biologist who studies North American salmon and ends up working with aliens; yet it all seems reasonable.

Rude Mechanicals by Kage Baker – another novella from Ms Baker; I wish I wasn’t so hooked on the Company stories, that I had to buy her work in hardback as soon as it’s published.

Fast Forward 1 edited by Lou Anders – all stories about the future; some quite OK, some good.

Quite a Year for Plums by Bailey White – I love Bailey White and yet her novel didn’t quite hang together; maybe I just didn’t get the point.

The Sandman v.4: Season of Mists by Neil Gaiman – a strong entry in that series

E: a novel by Matt Beaumont – funny, silly, and very British; an epistolary novel except instead of letters it’s all email.

Also the 2 latest Rex Libris comics!

And I’m still keeping up with magazines; there really hasn’t been anything good on TV.


June 6th, 2007 09:37 pm
WOLVERINES!
Just caught the last 5 minutes of Red Dawn! Boy, does the whole cast look really young.


June 12th, 2007 08:54 am
Warning! Earworm
Because I saw this scene on VH-1 over the weekend, I have “Hopelessly Devoted to You” stuck in my head. Cue the strings…


June 15th, 2007 09:47 am
Ocho
Niece #7 (grandchild #8 for my parents) is scheduled to be born today. For those keeping score at home, that leaves brother #1 with 4 kids, brings brother #2 up to 4 kids, and the rest of us with 0. Although I at least have a dog. But Quintulus (brother #4) does have a new baby; he picked up his 1st new car yesterday.


June 21st, 2007 08:28 am
omens?
I had to be at work at 7:30 this morning. I am not a morning person at all. A pigeon flew straight into my windshield on my way to work. The day is not shaping up well.


June 26th, 2007 12:10 pm
whatever
Been too apathetic to post; maybe I’ll feel better after my vacation next week.

I joined FaceBook this week. I had resisted the whole social networking thing, but we’re contemplating using it for reference work. Thank goodness for my relaties, otherwise I would have no friends there.
12:33 pm
Trips
I was looking for something from last fall and discovered a post that discussed all the trips that I took in 2006 (8 to be exact).
Trips so far this year:
March – Virginia Beach, VA (work)
April – Dallas & Alexandria, LA (work)
May – Dallas (work again)
July – Hilton Head Island, South Carolina (FUN!)
Other anticipated trips for the year…
Catskills in August, Nashville in September maybe, Albequerque in October (work)
Which brings me back up to 8, but it might end up higher if I actually go visit all the friends that I’m supposed to.


June 27th, 2007 08:37 am
Thanks
Dear workmen,
Yes, I know our dog is cute. Yes, I know she acts like we NEVER feed her. But please quit giving her bones. She just throws up all over the house (in the middle of the night) when you do.
No love,
me


June 29th, 2007 05:36 pm
before I go relax on the beach
LEM just told me that my terrible ghetto neighbors, the source of late night fights, the crack whore, and many car break-ins are selling their house. Let’s just hope it’s true.

Leave a Reply

