Jazz Fest Memories: early 70s

I started going to Jazz Fest (official name the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival) in the early 70s as a really small child. I think my first year may have been 1973 or 74 when I was 5 or 6. There wasn’t a kids area, like there is now, but there didn’t need to be.

Fest had just moved to the Fairgrounds from Armstrong Park and so they had an enormous amount of space for what was then a small festival. I just remember running through the empty areas with my brothers.  And then collapsing underneath the bleachers to get a bit of shade and roll in the grass.

Our Mom brought food in (allowed) for all of us to eat, so we had PB&J plus fruit.  Quite a bit different from today.

Leave a Reply

