Blast from the past: LJ October 2007

October 5th, 2007 09:10 am
Vocabulary on a Friday
Today’s word is crabstick which is defined as a noun meaning 1. a stick made of crab apple wood. Or 2. a crabby, ill-tempered person

I know which one I’ll be using and why would I need a stick made out of crab apple wood anyway?


October 11th, 2007 11:59 am
that’s what I’m doing wrong
I should be purchasing my books by color, not by author or subject or whatever random criteria I’m using now.


October 12th, 2007 08:51 am
how cute is my dog
In celebration of the cooler weather, Miss Sienna lost her mind last night. She galloped up and down the length of the house with her orange kitty (stuffed toy) in her mouth; she is almost 10. I tried to take a video with my new fancy phone, but I was laughing too hard. OK, maybe you had to be there, but it was hella cute.

Then this morning, she carefully takes a mouthful of food, noses open the kitchen screen door and buries the food in the side yard. It’s alway good to save some dry food for a rainy day, I guess.


October 16th, 2007 09:50 am
100
Today would be my grandmother’s 100th birthday. I know she is glad to be gone, but I still miss her.


October 18th, 2007 09:21 am
random
I leave for Albuquerque on Saturday morning for a regional work conference. I promised to do way too much and was freaking out, but I think I’m finished all my prep, maybe. Now I get to worry about freezing; the lows will be in the 30s while we’re there. It’s over 80 right now in NOLA and “feels like” almost 90.

Plus I’m waiting to see if Millionaire calls because I’m a lifeline for my cousin, Kruh and maybe his fiancee Kimber. I never did get the full scoop on that. So everytime I go to the bathroom, I make someone babysit my phone. Good thing, my coworkers are easily amused.

In other news, the replacement (and one new) window for the new house are supposed to come in today. Maybe work will actually happen and we can start moving some of our extraneous stuff in sooner rather than later.

10:10 am
almost forgot
To update the curious on my trashy neighbors…
Their pod was removed a couple of weeks ago; all the neighbors were very happy as it an annoyance. For all of us across the street, its width makes it difficult to parallel park and I’m always conviced there is someone lurking behind it.

Anyway it reappeared about a week later. Turns out it had been repo-ed with all their stuff in it for non-payment. They paid up and it reappeared.

I can’t really decide who is actually still living across the street; the trailor usually seems unlived in. But on Tuesday, the police were there with the older woman who was obviously reporting a robbery. Since her daughter and SIL are in a dispute over money (often loudly with much cursing in the middle of the street on the weekend), I’m guessing it was an inside job.


October 19th, 2007 10:41 am
Land of Enchantment
I’m off to a library conference (that I completely overcommitted too) tomorrow and I’ll be gone until Wednesday. So please don’t miss my comments too much.


October 30th, 2007 04:19 pm
more world domination?
In February 2005, I was being stalked by credenzas.

I was playing with the Free Rice vocabulary game and what word did I get?

That’s right. And I’m really not sure what it means.

Leave a Reply

