Blast from the past: LJ December 2007

December 5th, 2007 10:08 am
hmmm
I think my word a day calendar is as tired as I am. Today’s word is phew


December 6th, 2007 01:42 pm
headaches & funerals
To make my day worse then my headache and sore throat, I attended the visitation for a friend’s father. The poor grandchildren were sobbing as they closed the casket for the last time. M@mere was right; open caskets are barbaric.


December 10th, 2007 10:36 am
is it just me?
When confronted with “etc. etc. etc.” do you have to say it to yourself as if you’re Yul Brynner in the King and I?


December 12th, 2007 10:16 pm
September, October & November
I’ve slacked on regarding my books read; I know you’ve been waiting and waiting, so here they are:
September
Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – what a disappointment; for once the movie (probably any version) was better.

Working IX to V by Vicki Leon – I love these little nuggets of history type books; they don’t strain your brain. This one is about the various jobs available in the ancient world.

October
The Rhinocerous Who Quoted Nietzche by Peter S. Beagle – a collection of his short stories, some great, some good.

Grave Surprise by Charlaine Harris – no surprises…well maybe the gay athlete… but excellent brain candy.

Mozart & Leadbelly by Ernest Gaines – essays and short stories by a Louisiana master, really fascinating.

November
Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay – time traveling, ancient celts, love gone wrong (and right); nice to see Kay in the present for a change, at least for a little while.

Mistral’s Kiss by Laurel K. Hamilton – fairy p0rn and I don’t want to talk about my problem.

Orphan’s Tales v.2: In the Cities of Coin and Spice by Catherynne Valente – all the stories intersect and tie up so well that I need to go back and re-read volume 1 (June) to really appreciate her neatness.


December 13th, 2007 01:45 pm
pat myself on the back
Yesterday after 4:30 – y’know when your brain is fried- I assisted a patron in connecting to our wireless network which is secure and requires many, many steps. So that’s not a big deal, happens all the time. What was a big deal, was that all his screens were in Chinese, so I used our instructions with his screens and played pictograms. And it WORKED! Amazing.


December 16th, 2007 10:42 pm
Manic & Productive
Today:
Baked 2 different types of bread.
Made another batch of the candied pecans (otherwise known as candy crack).
Wrapped a gazillion presents.
Went shopping at Festivus.
Ran into my oldest brother, his wife & all four kids; the first time to see them as a group in about a year.
Got my ice bucket back from the neighbor who borrowed it Friday night.
Made 2 different cheese dishes for the office party tomorrow.
Washed/dried 4 loads of laundry.
Baked cookies.
Created a Christmas music mix on IPod.

Almost time for sleep…


December 18th, 2007 11:46 am
sadness
My Dad’s only sister passed away this morning; today also would have been my Granny’s (Dad’s Mother) 97th birthday. My cousin (granddaughter to my aunt) told me that she thinks Granny finally told her daughter to stop lingering and torturing the family that was left down here and to get herself on to the next life. That actually does sound like my Granny.

All of this would have been OK, except…
My 1st cousin (daughter of the deceased) did not bother to call anyone. Instead her partner forwarded an email that had been sent to a long list of friends on to various family members. That’s how my Dad found out his sister had died. That’s just cold.


December 20th, 2007 10:52 am
Housing update
So another delay with the new house…
To recap for those who were otherwise engaged:
LEM closed on the house in September

September & October saw improvements happen to the HVAC system, the roof, the trees and some windows

Windows…
New energy efficient windows replaced existing windows that were in poor repair

A brand new window was to be installed in the master bedroom which had no window previously

The wrong window was ordered or delivered (the story has changed over time); the wrong window is still sitting on the side porch

The contractor has not set foot in the house since Halloween

The replacement window arrived some time in the last 2 weeks and was wrong or damaged or something and was returned

Does that mean we have to wait another 6 weeks for a 3rd window to arrive?

I think I’ll move all the bookshelves and rest of the books in next week; at least then I’ll have finished something.


December 27th, 2007 12:35 pm
one last storm meltdown
One of the worst things in dealing with the storm recover for me, was dealing with the property loss division of my mortgage company. Everytime I called them, I would deal with someone unpleasant or ignorant. And I would be on hold for hours, disconnected, or transferred ad infinitum. As a consequence, I quit dealing with them. Yes, they still had about 15% of my insurance payout, but I made do without it.

I’ve been getting letters for over a year, asking me to turn in paperwork which they think that they sent me (I received 2 empty fedex packages). So I called today.

And I promptly burst into tears like an idiot. I apologized to the sweet voiced little southern girl that I was speaking to, but I couldn’t help it. All the frustration and angst came rushing back.

So I am supposed to be receiving 2 items faxed to me, momentarily. I can fill these out and have a final inspection and be done.

Leave a Reply

