Blast from the past: LJ January 2008

January 2nd, 2008 11:15 am
random thoughts over the last few days
“Wolverines!” – while in Lake Charles over the weekend.

Sassy & her boytoy seem really happy which is nice, but I would be stressing out by the incompleteness of the baby’s room since the child is due in less than 3 weeks.

I think I slept an average of 10 hours per night during my week off. Perhaps, I am part bear?

It is disappointing that we can’t host my birthday party at either of our houses (too covered in boxes-old; not enough furniture-new), but I’m grateful that my Mom is having a cake for me at her house.

I’ve decided with help from Connie Willis that negative energy attracts negative energy. I’m resolved to be more pollyanna-ish.


January 6th, 2008 11:31 am
december books
So I only managed to read 2 books in December, but that’s not surprising considering how hectic the month was.

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett – very British, but really fun. Who knew the end of times good be so entertaining. I know this had to be an inspiration for Kevin Smith’s Dogma.

The Best Nonrequired American Reading 2007 edited by David Eggers – I don’t read many “best of” collections, but the last 3 years of these have been so good, that the series will stay on my must purchase list. I also find it impressive that the selections are made by high school students.

That brings me to 45 books last year, which is down from 52 the year before. Maybe with fewer home improvement projects in 2008, I’ll get back to a book a week.


January 8th, 2008 01:16 pm
KC – 2008 pt.1
So I’ve already had a Rand@zzo’s (plain) and an Ange1o’s in Metry (also plain). I’m going to weigh 8gazillion pounds by the end of the month. And I still have 1/2 a birthday cake at my house from my Mom.


January 9th, 2008 10:00 am
what’s that all about
I woke E up for the 2nd time in less than 2 weeks because I was calling for help in my sleep. The first time was bad; I was actually screaming because I was a small child in a large scary house and a giant clown Santa was trying to kill me. E said he knew I was having a nightmare and kept trying to wake me up but I wouldn’t until I had screamed…twice.

Last night, I was in another rambly old house and was trying to catch, something. Well, I cornered it in a hall and I think it was a shadow (in that it looked like a person but could collapse and slither to the ground like a lizard). And then it ran at me and startled me. I woke both of us with that one.

06:02 pm
Umm.. what?
I’m sitting here working on an IT issue and suddenly what bursts into my brain? “Calling occupants of interplanetary craft.”


January 10th, 2008 08:45 am
KC3
King Cake #3 was a plain from R0use’s which replaced all our A&P type stores. It was pretty good and really fresh


January 14th, 2008 02:22 pm
mouths of toddlers and all that.
I watched nieces, 7 & the flower over the weekend. In an effort to convince 7, a very willful 4-yr-old, to watch something besides the evil overlord D channel, I turned on the new TLCMissAmerica show. It opened with them all wearing crowns, so I said to 7, “Look it’s a show about princesses; let’s watch it.” (OK I was desperate, so sue me.) She looked at the girls on the screen and said, “those aren’t princesses.” I responded, “Oh, maybe they’re beauty queens.” 7 thought about it and decided “that they were just party princesses” and wandered away. Dissed by a toddler…


January 15th, 2008 08:44 am
KC 4&5
KC 4 was a leftover (meaning stale) bavarian cream filled from R0bert’s grocery that I scrounged at my brother’s house while babysitting his kids. It was OK and the cream filling did not have the chemically aftertaste that you find in so many cream filled donuts.

KC 5 is a plain from H@ydel’s, my home bakery. As kids, we mostly ate McKenz1e’s KC. But if it was a special occasion or my Dad wanted a treat, we would go over to H@ydel’s which is about 3 blocks from my parents’ house. The McKenz1e’s was actually a little further away, just on the other side of my elemenatry school.


January 17th, 2008 11:54 am
Best FB status ever
JC from DC “celebrates the return of the Maryknoll sisters’ beer machine. Halleluia!”


January 20th, 2008 04:22 pm
Weekend update
4 trees planted (2 at the new house; 2 at the old); a Chinese pistache, a bald cypress, a sweet olive, and a crepe myrtle.

3 King cakes sampled (6,7,8): 6 was the French (Gateau d’ Roi) from B0ulangerie; yummy almond paste.
7 was from Whole Fo0ds and had a chantilly berry filling; it was tasty but the filling was a little strong, but still tasty.
8 was from B0ulanerie again, but this time the NO style and rasberry filled. Delic!


January 22nd, 2008 01:38 pm
KC 9
Was a homemade traditional McKenz1e’s style made by my Mom. So you know it was tasty.

On a side note, I now way 8,000 pounds.


January 24th, 2008 09:31 am
MG costume
I own 3 heav-ish coats; one of these will be the basis of my MG costume because I refuse to freeze. I remember my whole body hurting after being out in the cold and wind on MG day in maybe 1989 or 1990.

So I can use my heavy black wool coat to be… a black cat like Clariboo did back in college, any other ideas?

Or I can use my everyday field coat from Lands End in light khaki, but I can’t think of a creative costume to go with it.

Then there’s my red silk Chinese coat which I’m sort of scared to use. My uncle brought it home to my grandmother in the 1960s when he was in the Navy. I could just layer up and pretend to be a “secret asian” girl. (As an aside, I always thought Secret Agent Man performed by Johnny Rivers was really Secret Asian Man.)

What do you think?


January 29th, 2008 09:37 am
KC 10
I am currently snacking on a plain from R0bert’s and it’s mighty tasty. Robert’s (pronounced like Colbert for those out of town) is a local grocery that sort of took over the Schweggman’s niche.

I also had a B@skin-Robbins ice cream KC over the weekend at the 12 yr old niece’s birthday party. I won’t count it here, because it wasn’t nearly kingcakey enough for me. It was white cake with strawberry, dark chocolate (yum) and french vanilla filling. It also had plastic scary clowns stuck in the top…because when I think of MG, I think of scary clowns.


January 30th, 2008 10:56 am
ear worm
I have “Ladies’ Night” stuck in my head and I want to call my co-workers Disco Lady or Sophisticated Mama, well maybe not the boys.

Leave a Reply

