Blast from the past: LJ February 2008

February 1st, 2008 12:12 pm
what’s that I see?
I dropped the last of the Christmas stuff off at the new house this morning and what was resting on the side porch? A different window!!! This means that maybe I will be moving by the end of this month. Unbelievable.

This is the 3rd window to be delivered…the first one was too big…the second one was the wrong style and, I hope, I hope, I hope this one is just right.

Cross your fingers for me.

01:55 pm
Book Diary pt.1 2008
I only read 3 books last month, but one of them was over 700 pages, so it should count for at least 2.

Winds of Marble Arch by Connie Willis – a collection of her short stories. I think my favorite is the one set during the blitz in WWII with a character who turns out to be a vampire who finds survivors under the rubble.

Mapmaker’s Dream by James Cowan – interesting but perhaps a little too philosophical for me.

Krewe: the Early New Orleans Carnival Comus to Zulu by Errol Laborde – Laborde’s style can be a bit difficult at times, but the history is fascinating and as this is a 2007 release his analysis of Carnival post-K made me cry all over again.


February 6th, 2008 09:06 am
update-y
Stopped by the new house on Friday and there was a new crate on the porch!!! So the correct window has finally been delivered; now we just need to get on the contractor’s schedule to have it installed.

Also, we have survived another MG. And I successfully stopped Sienna from eating both garbage and vomit yesterday.


February 11th, 2008 02:16 pm
family
Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve started to post then stopped several times. Mostly because I didn’t know what to say, or I didn’t want to jinx things. No need for worrying now…

E’s father passed away on Friday; he had been in the hospital for just over 2 weeks. He had improved some and then caught drug resistant pneumonia. He was 79.


February 18th, 2008 11:24 am
where do i work?
This is beginning of week 8 of the new year. I have yet to work a 40 hour work week in 2008. The most I have managed is 32 hours. Not entirely my slacking mind you… There were holidays and random closures for football games and illness and funerals and home improvement projects.

We’ll see how I do this week.

01:27 pm
and a-one and a-two
Saturday evening, I vegged on the couch for a few and flipped past the weekly showing of the Lawrence Welk show on PBS. I am periodically mesmerized by the LW show. Well this week’s episode was entitled “Songs of the South” (1st aired in 1973) and what happened? LW came to Mardi Gras! There was a terrible version of Jambalaya sang all super bland country. A hep scary version of…some dixieland song…really the guy was wearing a hot pink sparkly suit and helmet hair…how can I remember. And then a bland version of “I know What it Means to Miss New Orleans.” And let’s not forget the tap dancing black man. I think he must have gone home and everynight and drank himself to sleep.

If I could purchase just that episode, I would. It was sooooo bad.


February 25th, 2008 09:45 am
disgusting? or not?
On first taste, I though strawberry miniature marshmallows were disgusting. And now I can’t stop eating them. Curious. And as the package says, they are “great for snacking!”


February 28th, 2008 02:50 pm
doggie desires
Why, oh, why do I have to periodically go look at all the sweet little puppies that want met adopt them over on the SPCA page? There’s a spaniel on there! Spaniels are my ultimate doggie weakness. And puppies that look like Bosco, aka, E’s soulmate dog. I really think Sienna girl needs a sibling.


February 29th, 2008 10:18 am
colors
Do you ever think of subjects in terms of color? For instance, math is blue; science is yellow; history is red; reading/english is green. Maybe it’s because these were always the colors of my notebooks in jr. high/high school. So now when I sort work projects into folders, the colors have to correspond to the type of task. I don’t think it’s an insane compulsion; I hope it’s only an organizational thing.

Or maybe it’s time that I end up in the hospital too.

12:26 pm
so what was thrown off the bridge?
I heard “Ode to Billie Joe” on the radio on the way in this morning. And, as it is now running through my head, I decide to research the lyrics. Mmm…aborted/stillborn baby, rag doll, or unknown. No wonder I’m confused.

I guess it’s just one of those songs that it becomes what you bring to it. And as I am confused, so shall I stay. At least, I didn’t decide it was all about secret homosexuality like the novel and movie versions.

Leave a Reply

