Blast from the past: LJ March 2008

March 5th, 2008 04:17 pm
brain malfunction
I was just in a webclass and one of the instructors said that we all have to “operate in beta.” But I heard Beta, as in Betamax and wondered why we were going to use a dead, albeit superior, technology. I think my brain might be full.


March 10th, 2008 03:18 pm
song of the day
“Blinded by the Light” but I really don’t know most of the words; it’s like sing “LMNOP.” And I was convinced that Manfred Mann & his Earth Band said hurdy gurdy in there somewhere, but, no, it’s “And little Early-Pearly came by in his curly-wurly and asked me if I needed a ride.” I need to get easier earworms.


March 12th, 2008 04:18 pm
comments from a library-related LJ post
tea making? (original poster said they were in charge of this for their school)

Me: I wouldn’t mind being in charge of that here; instead we have a “coffee club,” and I am un-American and find coffee to be blechy.

British Librarian: I *love* being in charge of tea making. It holds a level of power. Make any senior members of staff a good cup of tea, remembering their sugar contents and they are your ally for life.

Plus it means I can hang out in the staff only area whilst making it!

Come to England. Tea is currency here.


March 22nd, 2008 10:39 am
crazed with the moving
We spent our first night in the new house last night. But not in the master bedroom because when we went to assemble our new bed, a major piece seemed to be missing. E will pick it up today, so maybe I should figure out a temporary curtain for the bedroom window so I won’t flash the new neighbors.

All the grandmother furniture fit in the new guest room, but my biggest bookshelf and the sleeper sofa would not go up the stairs. So on to plan B…which would be buying 2 narrower book shelves and one of those inflatable mattresses for overflow guests. Although I will probably hold off on that purchase until we expect more that 2 (or 2+baby).

Our 1st house guest? Wednesday.


March 26th, 2008 11:07 am
housing update
Nights slept at new house: 5
Nights slept in master bedroom: 1
Number of times missing parts to new bad in master bedroom were promised by store: 3
Number of times jacuzzi tub used: 1
Number of times I almost lost my book to the jets of jacuzzi tub: 3
Houseguests arriving tonight: 1

Enough with the enumeration, I still have furniture to move from the old house, including the computer and our wireless router. It’s been tough with no internet access in the evenings. Not that we’ve been home much with E’s brother and family in town until today.

Art still needs to be taken off the walls and I haven’t touched the back closet or shed. I guess I don’t really have to worry about the shed until we have somewhere to store all that stuff at the new house. I wonder where the previous owner kept his lawnmower because there wasn’t even a spot for a pre-fab shed.

And I must say that I love, love, love our new master closet. It holds more than I could imagine.


March 31st, 2008 12:01 pm
Bookish
I have only read 9 books this year so far. And I guess 3 books a month isn’t terrible, but I’m a bit embarrassed as 2 of them were novellas…then again 2 were large collections of short stories, so I guess it balances out. I’ll post my list tomorrow maybe. I know you can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

