Freedom is Awesome

I had a conversation this week with a friend who grew up in a former Eastern bloc country. This week is her 20+ anniversary of moving to New Orleans (although she lived in two other US states before here). After chatting with her about waiting in food lines for hours (and finding no food at the end of that wait) and what she had to do to leave her country, it makes me extra grateful today.

I may bitterly state that my city isn’t part of the United States after our treatment by the Federal government post-Katrina, but I know that most of my friends and fellow citizens didn’t abandon us.

And, of course, I have the freedom to complain about my country, my city, whatever, publicly because I am a citizen of this country.

Leave a Reply

