Blast from the past: LJ July 2008

July 7th, 2008 04:30 pm
car salesmen have a rep for a reason
Scene: At the high volume sales Ni$$an lot in Metry
Me: blah, blah, blah, new car
Annoying sales manager dude: Your boyfriend is really lucky.
Me: blank stare
ASMD: All men really want a librarian.

And scene…


July 14th, 2008 10:30 am
car news
So I won’t be buying a new car, instead LEM & I will be trading vehicles (and I’ll give him some $$ for the vast difference in re-sale prices). He will purchase a new truck sometime in the near future.

But all of these plans were delayed when I realized on Saturday that I don’t actually have a title on my Katrina truck. It must have been mailed to the old house around December 2005. So it went into the mail black hole never to be seen again.

For a replacement, I went to the notary place in the ghetto W@lm@art and for a mere $70, they will handle the whole thing & I don’t have to deal with the DMV personally. I like it.

3:44 pm
spamalacious
Just received a fabu spam at my work account (.edu address)
RE: Beer Money
What’s up?

How’s the college life treatin ya? If it was anythign like mine, you’re probably reading this at a party right now.
Anyways, college can put a pretty big damper on your wallet. Tuition just ain’t cheap these days.
You ever think about consolidating your debt and making your payments a lot smaller? Well, if not, you need to seriously reconsider it.

Fabulous stuff.
Mis-spellings – check
vernacular – check
annoying – check


July 15th, 2008 05:44 pm
ac woes
It is currently over 90 in my house. We’re having the a/c worked on and I thought it was going to be partially running tonight. Guess not. I’m holed up in the one room with a window unit.

If I could think about putting real clothes on, I would go to the movies, but right now I’m just too hot.


July 16th, 2008 10:47 am
library geekness
I just bought a copy of this painting from 1562 to hang in my area of the library.

It will go very well with all my librarian action figures.


July 17th, 2008 10:15 am
dreamy
As I slept last night in the lovely new central a/c that is available in my guest room (still none for the whole downstairs), I dreamt that I was explaining Rickrolling to my Mom. Where did that come from?


July 21st, 2008 11:04 pm
dangers of a life online
Received a CREEPY email via Cl@ssm@tes.com from a guy who went to HS with me for a couple of years.

All I really remember is that he was hit by a motorcyle the 1st week he moved to the neighborhood, so my best friend & I were asked to help him (because we were such goody-2-shoes) while he was in a wheelchair. If she still was in New Orleans, it was maybe 9th grade & so Jr. High. Anyway, he makes this big pronouncement about how he can’t decide between the 2 of us since we’re both so luscious. Eewww.

His email makes me think his cluelessness has not lessened.


July 29th, 2008 08:27 am
why I don’t commute
The traffic report said that a live alligator was on the interstate into the city this morning. Sorry, can’t find a link to back it up.
*edit*
http://www.nola.com/news/index.ssf/2008/07/alligator_disrupts_traffic_on.html

**edit**
http://www.nola.com/news/index.ssf/2008/07/alligator_found_on_i10_remains.html
And since it was on an elevated portion, they think someone put the alligator there as a prank. The world is a funny place, until someone has euthanize a gator.


July 31st, 2008 08:32 am
what is going on?
Not to be my grandmother or anything, but when did it become acceptable to walk through your work parking garage, with your pants unzipped and around your hips while you tuck in your shirt? TMI, thanks.

Also, in other alligator news (http://www.nola.com/news/t-p/index.ssf?/base/news-0/1217482542154890.xml&coll=1), they are definitely plotting some sort of takeover. First invade the transportation system; second assault rambunctious children in the suburbs. Phase 2 will include mutated giant crustaceans with enormous brains.

Leave a Reply

