Blast from the past: LJ August 2008

August 4th, 2008 08:49 pm
makes you wonder
Been obsessing about my missing camera for over a week, I was sure I just misplaced it. Tonight I discovered a prescription pill bottle (from the dental surgery on June 30th) that was missing about a dozen pills. HMMM…

I think that camera might be gone.


August 7th, 2008 09:57 am
vacation woes
I haven’t had a vacation this summer, my own fault mostly. Then LEM called on Tuesday and asked if I wanted to go to the Catskills next week, even though he wasn’t working the summer music festival up there. I, of course, said “YES!” Scheduled the time off at work, LEM bought me a ticket. And then…the other guy who proposed the trip, well, his wife freaked out completely. Turns out he pitched the idea of leaving her home alone with the kids all week by saying it was going to be a guys only trip and then LEM invited me.

So now if I go, he can’t go. And LEM feels like he can’t go, if other guy can’t go. So guess who is staying home.

But at least, I bought tickets and booked a room for a long weekend in NYC next month.


August 9th, 2008 09:54 am
some students better come in soon
I complained to the loud, rude, cursing HVAC guys about their equipment, supplies and tools being strewn about in the walk through areas this morning. Since we are open today and students do need egress. But so far no students, no anyone. I hate to be a bitch for no reason.


August 11th, 2008 11:23 am
Randomness
This past weekend:

Watched the opening ceremonies and was moved by the spectacle that the Chinese committee put together and then was offended by the NBC commentators and their cultural imperialism.

Worked on Saturday for half the day; walked in to discover that the A/C subcontractors did not know we were going to be open and had strewn sharp metal bits around the entrance to the library and left the library standing wide open before we got there while they took their smoke break.

Continued my ongoing war against the jasmine on the fence; since LEM bought me a electric hedge trimmer, I am now winning. We filled 3 96 gallon trashcans with yard detritus.

Went out to breakfast at a new place in Mid-City and had a brie & portabello omelet.

Floated some drywall.

Cleaned up and went to an opera association cocktail party, but I was too tired & hot.

And…
this is where we’re staying in NYC next month: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_Chelsea


August 28th, 2008 08:45 am
what is my subconcious up to now?
First thought this morning? Why is LEM’s alarm going off at 3:30?
Second thought (after being told it was 6:30)? Contrariwise.

The word just popped into my otherwise empty brain. So what does that mean? I’m doomed to a day of perversity or that I’ll meet Tweedledee (or Tweedledum) sometime today.
09:59 pm
CRANKY!
We’ve had a houseguest since Sunday afternoon. He has consumed all the soft drinks, all the laundry detergent, and allowed LEM to buy dinner tonight.

I am being petty, I know. But it’s rude.


August 29th, 2008 08:42 am
Three years ago
Three years ago today, I slept late and woke up in LEM’s aunt & uncle’s house in the country. The room we were staying in had not been redecorated since the early 70s when it was his only girl first cousin’s room. Think lots of white frilly with (thankfully) blue country-ish wallpaper.

And really the rest is a blur. I know we raked and walked around to see all the trees that went down. We didn’t lose power, but LEM’s Dad was going crazy from broadcast only TV. And we thought we were OK. That we would head home the next day or so. We were wrong.

So today, I have a tight chest and my Mom sounds like she is freaking with the idea of evacuating again. And LEM is working like a crazy person to get our house ready and “protected” because the neighbors started in on how many houses in the neighborhood were robbed post-K. But we will leave if a mandatory evacuation is called.


August 30th, 2008 05:33 pm
Gustav nonsense
Looks like we’re leaving in the morning. We’ll head to LEM’s cousin’s house in rural Louisiana on the westbank of Baton Rouge. Hopefully, we will turn around and come home on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

