Blast from the past: LJ January 2009

January 5th, 2009 11:10 am
Hello! Who are you again?
So with all my other social networking sites (I’m so Web 2.0), I’ve been neglecting LJ. BUT…
it’s almost that time of year again, so be prepared for obsessive minutia regarding king cakes.

And, yes, my mother did try to convince me to have one yesterday since the Pope decided that the 1st Sunday of the new year is now Feast of Epiphany. But I will remain all pre-Vatican 2 and staunchly hold until January 6th.

See you again tomorrow with KC #1 for 2009!

11:15 am
Previous year’s tallies
Despite the various lengths of carnival season (epiphany to Mardi Gras day), my tallies have been pretty consistent:
2008 – 10
2007 – 13
2006 – 12

This year is a long season (Jan. 6th – Feb.24th) so let’s see how much I eat. This is why I NEVER resolve to lose weight for new year’s.


January 6th, 2009 10:01 am
King Cake #1 for 2009
Plain from H@ydel’s …~insert semi-disgusting chewing smacking noises~

Like I need KC today to feed the food baby that I have from dinner last night.

10:19 pm
Book tally 2008
53 books. & here’s a dump from my Excel file
The Winds of Marble Arch & Other Stories Willis, Connie
A Mapmaker’s Dream Cowan, James
Krewe: the early New Orleans Carnival Comus to Zulu Laborde, Errol
The Line Between Beagle, Peter S.
French Women for All Seasons Guiliano, Mireille
Rebel Fay Hendee, Barb & CJ
All Seated on the Ground Willis, Connie
D.A. Willis, Connie
Ultimate Egoist: v.1 complete stories Sturgeon, Theodore
Microcosmic God: v.2 complete stories Sturgeon, Theodore
Yume No Hon: the Book of Dreams Valente, Catherynne M
All Together Dead Harris, Charlaine
Or Else my Lady Keeps the Key Baker, Kage
Quiet, Please: Dispatches from a Public Librarian Douglas, Scott
Killdozer: v.3 complete stories Sturgeon, Theodore
Girl’s Guide to Witchcraft Klasky, Mindy
In War Times Goonan, Kathleen Ann
The Sandman v.5: A Game for You Gaiman, Neal
Wind in the Willows/Classics Illustrated Grahame/Plessix
Free for All: Oddballs, Geeks, and Gangsters in the Public Library Borchert, Don
Television without Pity Ariano, Tara & Sarah Bunting
Trickster’s Choice Pierce, Tamora
Trickster’s Queen Pierce, Tamora
Thunder & Roses: v.4 complete stories Sturgeon, Theodore
Voices from an Early American Convent Clark, Emily
Name of the Wind Rothfuss, Patrick
Perfect Host: v.5 complete stories Sturgeon, Theodore
History of the World in 6 Glasses Standage, Tom
The Sandman v.6: Fables & Reflections Gaiman, Neal
On Agate Hill Smith, Lee
Watchmen Moore, Alan
Botany of Desire Pollan, Michael
Torturer’s Apprentice Biguenet, John
Typhoid Mary Bourdain, Anthony
Fragile Things Gaiman, Neal
Chalice McKinley, Robin
The Sandman v.7: Brief Lives Gaiman, Neal
The House of the Stag Baker, Kage
The Accidental Time Machine Haldeman, Joe
The Sandman v.8: Worlds’ End Gaiman, Neal
An Ice Cold Grave Harris, Charlaine
The Bell at Sealey Head McKillip, Patricia
Bloodline Gaines, Ernest
Reap the Wild Wind Czerneda, Julie
The Sandman v.9: the Kindly Ones Gaiman, Neal
The Sandman v.10: the Wake Gaiman, Neal
The Sandman: Endless Nights Gaiman, Neal
A Lick of Frost Hamilton, Laurell K.
The Best American Non-Required Reading 2008 Eggers, Dave
The Sandman: Dream Hunters Gaiman, Neal
The Thirteen Orphans: Breaking the Wall Lindskold, Jane
Tales of the Slayers Whedon, Josh
The Graveyard Book Gaiman, Neal


January 8th, 2009 01:46 pm
NOLA weather
Lots of complaints about the weather down here. So someone on another blog posted the record high temps for the last 20 years.

I knew the one for Dec. 25th 1987 (79 degrees). Why did I know that you ask? Because I went to pick up my grandmother for lunch at my parents’. And her house was boiling because she didn’t have central a/c and because she was leaving she didn’t open any of the windows. While I was helping her finish up, she fainted while sitting on a stool in the kitchen.

My grandmother was taller than me and at the time outweighed me. But I lifted of slumped body off of the stool and lay her on the ground. Then ran and called my Mom.

Scariest Christmas ever. She ended up being fine, just overcome by the heat. Eventually her cardiologist told her she had to get central a/c because her ailing heart could not take the heat.

Whew.


January 10th, 2009 07:18 pm
real celebrity sighting
I saw Jennifer Coolidge while out shopping this afternoon. She is really tall, but looks pretty much the same as in the movies, except prettier. I refrained from calling her, Stifler’s Mom or doing the Bend & Snap.


January 11th, 2009 02:25 pm
Sienna & the horsies
Sienna met a couple of quarter horses (big feet, but smaller than clydesdales?) today on our walk. Where were we walking? Down our street. Random horses in the neighborhood.

Sienna was very excited and really wanted to go sniff the horses but the driver (cart/trap thingy) thought that was bad idea. I wasn’t really going to let her; I would hate to have to explain to LEM why the dog went to the emergency room because of a horse kick.

Sienna trotted along the sidewalk after them sniffing the air and clearly wanted to hang out. If for no other reason than they might offer her some delicious (in her mind) manure.

Every day is adventure.

02:29 pm
hmmm
And I’ve already posted more this month then I did September-December of last year. Curious.


January 13th, 2009 12:20 pm
French King Cake
Sample #2 for 2009 is a French King Cake from Le M@deleine. The almond paste was delish, but I think the dough was a little overworked in the piece that I had.

If I seem to be slow this year, it’s because I still have birthday cake at home + brother #1 brought a H@ydel’s cake last week and left it. I will endeavor to do better soon.


January 15th, 2009 04:33 pm
earworm
I had “Don’t you wish your girlfriend” stuck in my head. Luckily SOMEONE had posted the Push It video on YouTube so I’ve switched to that. At least I like Salt-n-Peppa.

07:11 pm
King Cake #3
A slice from CCs, courtesy of my honey. It was a little stale (but he bought it midday), very cinnamon roll-ish, gooey icing and purple, green, and gold jimmies. So pretty good and very unexpected.


January 20th, 2009 09:49 am
KC 4 & 5
#4 was purchased at my local grocery, Z@r@’s and was made by the P@rty P@l@ce in Kenner. It was OK, too much icing for me and the dough seemed a little undercooked.

#5 was at work at this morning and is a plain from R0use’s. Again it was ok, lots of icing but nice crunchy sugar and again it looked a little undercooked.


January 26th, 2009 10:17 pm
KC #6
Since I had to be on the Westbank this afternoon for a dentist appointment, I stopped at Hi D0 bakery on my way back. I had their king cake for the first time a few years ago, but haven’t since. So I bought one for work tomorrow and a small one for me & E tonight. I could have eaten the entire cake in one sitting; it’s so good. Kind of like a fresh, moister, slightly richer, plain McKenzie’s. I can see why they won the newspaper sponsored contest for a couple of years. AND you can order your cake in shapes! Fleur-de-lis, crawfish or crab.

Leave a Reply

