Blast from the past: LJ January 2010

January 6th, 2010 05:53 pm
Ephiphany!
And we all know what that means…King Cake.
Today’s cake was at work and was La Louisiane plain. It had good crunchy sugar, the dough was OK, but the icing was a bit too sweet for me. How many cakes will I sample before the season ends?


January 12th, 2010 08:56 am
#2 & #3
#2 – Picked up a yummy plain cake from Hi D0 on Friday and shared it with my oldest brother & his kids that night. It was very fresh and the sugar was the superfine variety. It probably would have been a little better if I hadn’t left it in my extremely cold car Friday afternoon. But if I had brought it into work (ran & got it during lunch), I probably would have had none to share that night.

#3 – Dropped some stuff off at my Mom’s on Sunday and got to gobble up the last piece of a king cake she made. It was a little gooey, but the icing was slightly flavored with lemon so that was tasty. Plus it was made with extra love since it was made at home.


January 13th, 2010 09:42 am
4
4th king cake (almost included the hashtag, clearly I am on Twitter too much): Rouse’s (it was really Robert’s) grocery, cream cheese filled. It was good for grocery store KC, very cinnamony. And I managed to avoid the lump of cream cheese filling, blech. Then again I’m almost never a fan of cream cheese filling.


January 17th, 2010 06:27 pm
King Cake 5
Stopped by Boulangerie after getting my haircut yesterday. They make both NOLA & French style carnival cakes, but I was after a NOLA style. In the smalls they only had filled left, cream cheese, chocolate & raspberry. I went with the raspberry and it’s like the cake is filled with really expensive jam. Yum. I want a piece EVERY time I walk by the box.


January 21st, 2010 09:27 am
KC 6&7
Because LEM got the baby from the Boulangerie cake, he picked up one on Tuesday from Laurel Street. It’s a really dense cinnamony cake. I like it but it’s hefty.

Today @ work, my coworker K made a sourcream king cake with almond filling. TASTY. I admire her ambition.


January 25th, 2010 10:48 pm
KC 8 &9
oh dear. I will way a million pounds by Mardi Gras
#8 was a slice of Haydel’s at my niece’s after carnival ball party. It was tasty and I was good & only had a sliver to give me enough of a sugar rush to get myself home.

#9 is a king cake at home using the old McKenzie’s recipe but purchased from Tastee. LEM said he would eat this version and nothing else for the rest of the season. It’s simple & tasty & full of nostalgia.


January 28th, 2010 01:30 pm
#10
in Black & Gold from Randazzo’s Camellia City Bakery.

And #11 was an apple filled from Rouse’s.

I think I may actually be burning out on King Cake. Unheard of.

Leave a Reply

