Top Chef – episode 10 – Ate by ya Mamma’s

Holiday parties and business meant that I’m just getting to the last 2 episodes of Top Chef. So on demand…means extra stream of consciousness for some reason…

LOVE Hubert Keller. I would want him as my instructor/mentor in the kitchen forever. He seems so calm and supportive. If he isn’t, please do not burst my bubble.

These sponsored quickfires are kind of annoying; 10k for a recipe with national brand coffee? Yawn. AND risotto is the kiss of death..what are you doing Brian?

Yay Dooky Chase shoutout! Which means we get more Miss Leah in this episode. And they replayed the “Pope quit” quote from her earlier episode. So much love.  AND when Leah Chase is in the room, you get random stories about her Mom and, y’know, Ray Charles.

I love how they juxtapose the Metairie location of Whole Foods and then show a French Quarter store front…like that’s where the WF is. Right. The only grocery in the FQ is Royal Street which used to be an A&P and is now a Rouse’s.  It is stocked tighter then any store if you’ve ever seen.

And I have to admit that Anthony Mackie was correct. I grew up eating potted meat on saltines and/or split Vienna sausages. Then my 2nd brother read the ingredients out loud to me around age 8 and that was it. Never again. Also it appears that Tom Colicchio & Anthony Mackie are buds. Interesting.

I do agree that going home when cooking food that you love and represent home or heart to you is a serious form of torture. And next week they head to Baton Rouge….

Leave a Reply

