Mardi Gras 2015 wrap up

My favorite float of 2015 – Picasso in Hermes

Final parade count was 33…not that I saw every float in every parade. I missed exactly one parade that rode on the uptown route this year and that was Crescent City yesterday. If I’m going to miss one then a truck parade usually is it.

King Cake final tally was 19 (with 1 duplicate) since I had a mini-king cake from Rivista yesterday (purchased on Lundi Gras). It was tiny bit stale…which was on me obviously and more like a croissant but much appreciated as we walked to Zulu on Tuesday morning.

My favorite parades are still the old line krewes because they have the prettiest floats…yes, the superkrewes (traditionally Endymion, Bacchus & Orpheus but Nyx is actually the 3rd largest krewe these days) are flashy but for sheer beauty, I’ll take Proteus or Hermes or Babylon or even Rex (although they emphasized moving parts over beauty this year). For great photos check out UptownMessenger‘s photo galleries.

And so now we repent…and I attempt to give up cursing. We’ll see how that’ll work.

2 thoughts on “Mardi Gras 2015 wrap up

Leave a Reply

