Watermelon update 2: Electric Boogaloo

Because that first baby watermelon was delicious, I bought a jumbo watermelon from a roadside stand on Hwy 90 coming back from Thibodaux over Labor Day weekend.  Yes, I live alone and bought an enormous watermelon. As I cut it up on Monday, I realized just how much super-ripe watermelon I now had.

So I turned to the internet and found a couple of watermelon jelly recipes. I merged a couple of recipes I found online. Here’s a rough estimate of my ingredients:

  • 6 cups (ish) of watermelon juice (maybe 1/4+ of my watermelon)
  • 2 and 1/2 packets of powdered pectin. (I don’t know why I had half a packet of pectin…some previous jelly making adventure, I guess).
  • 1/3 cup of lemon juice…which may have been too much
  • 4 cups (ish) of sugar

Which made 8 half pints of jelly. The jelly is beautifully red and has an acidic bite from the lemon juice. Roughly the jelly recipes, I estimated from were 2 cups of watermelon juice to 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to a cup of sugar (which would really vary depending on the sweetness of your melon) and packet of pectin. I have another 12! cups in the freezer to make more soon.

The recipes also said to add red food coloring if needed. Yeah mine is a glorious rosey read, so no need. Of course I forgot to actually take any photos. I’ll make a watermelon update 3 (Return of the Melon) when I actually finish up the frozen juice.

Leave a Reply

