Allen Toussaint

I started this post back in November when Toussaint passed away so suddenly. I had all the feels since he is the soundtrack of NOLA. This weekend I was reading that Prince included 2 (or 3) Allen Toussaint songs on his must party song list…wish I could remember where I read this to cite it correctly.

On Saturday his likeness was added to the ancestors area of the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival. The image was not yet up on Friday when I attended so I look forward to seeing it this weekend when I go back.

So I give you my stream of conscious thoughts from 6 months ago. Here’s a bunch of posts that spoke to me from WWNO, David Simon, my friend Leigh, the New Orleans Advocate and even Instagram.

And some videos…

Toussaint playing Professor Longhair

Southern Nights live

Yes We Can Can

Leave a comment